Springtime adventures in Busan


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Busan
May 19th 2015
Published: May 19th 2015
Edit Blog Post

The weather is finally nice so, of course, my first reaction is to spend as much time outside as possible. Luckily, I am an easy bus / subway ride into some of the best beach areas in Busan - Gwangalli and Haeundae - and have been spending the last several weekends there. This has led to many fun adventures, meeting new friends, and good times all around.

In Gwangalli, my new favorite Korean bar - Sharky's - has beach bags where you can order either 4 or 6 shots worth of a mixed drink and take it to go with you on the beach. Margaritas on the beach?? Yes please! Nothing better than walking around in the sun and enjoying the sights with a huge margarita in hand :D

I also visited the fish market in Busan. Not my cup of tea.... but interesting to see a different part of the culture! I have been actively avoiding all seafood since I've come here. While I didn't actually eat any, this was the closest I've allowed myself to come to it.

I also managed to go on a spur-of-the-moment jet-skiing adventure with a Korean girl I met in Gwangalli! I can't even remember the last time I was on a jet ski. We went with a few other Korean women and rode on the backs of the jet skis with some Korean men who worked at a place called Jetworld. We rode what was probably a few miles down the coast to this small beach area I had never seen before and spent some time eating lunch at a traditional Korean place. Thankfully, they ordered a pork dish.... spicy, but not bad! And so much soju and beer.... Koreans know how to handle their alcohol! Any foreigner who tries to keep up is simply a fool. 😊

This past Saturday, I went with a group to make our own makkoli in Busan. Makkoli is a rice wine - it can come in many different flavors - that is very popular in Korea. It is currently fermenting.... should be done by this weekend! We also went to lunch at a Japanese ramen noodle place... soo good!

I have always said that London is my favorite city in the world... but Busan is quickly moving up to take that spot! I am loving Busan and exploring more and different areas as much as I can. I will still always go back to the beach though.... 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

StatueStatue
Statue

Apparently it is lit up at night and looks really cool


Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.059s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb