Home is where the heart is


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gyeongsangnam-do » Yangsan
May 11th 2015
Published: May 11th 2015
Edit Blog Post

I have heard, time and again, that home is not necessarily where you have physical belongings. It's not where you have a roof over your head, or where you happen to be sitting at the moment. Home, at the end of the day, is where your heart is.

I've always loved this sentiment. Home doesn't have to be where I am right now, or where I will be tomorrow. Home will always be where the people I love are; where, as much as my wanderlust is a huge part of me, I yearn to be. Home is where my family is... but it's also where my friends are. My friends are just as important to me as my family by blood.... they are the family I chose, after all.

While I truly believe that home doesn't have to be a physical place... I've also learned, in the past several months, that 'home' has many different meanings. My heart is - and always will be - in New Hampshire where I spent the first 26 years of my life. But.... at least right now.... Korea is also home. Korea is where I have made some amazing friends, have had adventures that I would never have had at home, and where I have learned what it truly means to be on my own.

When I go home in December (6.5 months away.... almost halfway through this contract, can you believe it?!), I will be going home. To my first home. But, I will also be leaving a place that has become like home. A piece of my heart now belongs to Korea... and I guess that means this is now also a home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb