6 Months in Korea.... What I've learned, what I've done, and what I hope to still do


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gyeongsangnam-do » Yangsan
June 1st 2015
Published: June 1st 2015
Edit Blog Post

It's official. Today marks the halfway point of my ESL teaching experience in Yangsan, South Korea. It's been quite a roller coaster ride, but I have learned and experienced more than I could have dreamed possible the day I stepped into that plane to come here. I have visited or lived in four different countries in Asia. I have made many new friends from all over the world. I missed my first Christmas with family... but learned that family doesn't always have to be by blood. I am living truly on my own for the first time in my life... and I am realizing just how little I really need to survive.

This post may be a bit longer than recent ones, but I am going to split it into 3 sections about my first 6 months in Korea: Things I have learned; things I have done; and my goals for the next 6 months. Bear with me.... there's been a lot on my mind lately!



Things I have learned after 6 months in Korea.

1. There is very little that is more humbling than stepping off a plane and realizing you are in a foreign country.... and you don't know a word of the language. You are quite literally as helpless as a toddler when it comes to communicating effectively. Learning the language of the country you will be living in for the next 365 days is non-negotiable. And you had better learn quick, because it can be the difference between sink or swim.

Korean is a very difficult language for native English speakers to learn (and vice versa). My understanding of the language as a whole is elementary at best. I have learned to never underestimate the effectiveness of miming / sign language, pointing, and translation apps.

2. For the first time in my life, I was a solo traveler. Sure, I had flown alone before. I had taken short road trips on my own. The difference, however, is that there was some one at the other end that I would know and likely waiting for me. I was never TRULY a solo traveler. My flight to Korea changed all that. I was flying blind and hoping for the best. I have also learned something about myself.... I LOVE being a solo traveler at times. Don't get me wrong, I love the company... but there's something to be said about heading out to explore something that you want to see or do and not having to worry about entertaining some one else.

3. Living in Korea - and travelling in Asia - I have met people from almost every continent (Antarctica excluded). I have made friends from all over the US and Canada; met a guy in Manila from Argentina; made friends from England and Germany and other countries in Europe taking a gap year to travel; come across people from all over Asia and met some Aussies as well. And, while it is awesome to meet people from every corner of the world, it is also very short-lived. A few days in the country before moving on, it is hard to make lasting impressions. Thankfully, social media allows for at least some of us to stay connected... and, with any luck, I'll have some potential tour guides when I continue my travels!

4. To continue on that note.... social media is one of my lifelines. Not only do I get to keep up with friends and family at home, I use it to find places to visit or events to attend here. It has been great for meeting people and continuing to stay in contact with them. I might have gone crazy without a way to stay connected.

5. I have learned how to be alone in Asia. That sounds crazy. I live half an hour away from the second largest city in Korea and have visited some of the largest cities in the world here. I am constantly surrounded by people. However, I have learned that I don't always have to be with some one... it's ok to be on my own for a bit.

6. I have also learned how NOT to be alone. I am no longer afraid to strike up a conversation with a random person on the subway or at a bar / restaurant. I no longer wait for people I know to be free / have some time... I use the time that I have.

7. Family is not always biologically related. This is a lesson that really hit home within the first month of arriving in Korea as I missed my first Christmas at home. However, as I sat in a small apartment with several other teachers and Koreans eating dinner and drinking wine and having dessert, I learned that family comes in all shapes and sizes. It's important that you don't lose sight of the people who become family even when they didn't have to.

8. Living overseas means just about everything is short term. In the first 6 months, it seems I have said good bye to almost as many friends as I have made. As soon as I say bye to one person, however, there is some one else new. And, as hard as the good-bye part can be, it doesn't have to be permanent... I hope to see many of those friends again, when ever our paths can cross once more.





6 months of adventures

I hardly even know where to begin with this one, because there are SO many things I have experienced in a short 6 months. I'll do my best to keep it short and simple.

*Christmas dinner with friends in Yangsan

*Winter Camp with a great group of students

*Hong Kong

*Manila, and the True Manila group

*Taipei

*Several trips to Seoul, and one visit to Everland

*Cherry Blossom Festival in Jinhae (or the end of it, at least)

*Sand Festival in Haeundae, Busan

*Learned how to make my own makkoli (rice wine)

*Visited the largest department store in the world, Shinsegae

*Went to Jeju Island and had a short, but fun, reunion with two flatmates from my university in England, Eric and Rebecca

*Went on a spur-of-the-moment jet skiing adventure with a group of Koreans

*Went to a noraebang (Korean karaoke room), if with a little liquid courage

*Experienced and tried many popular types of Korean / Asian food, including Korean BBQ, beukkembap, bibimbap, Shabu Shabu...

*Learned (and am learning) the Korean language, both written and spoken

*Made countless friends and memories, many game nights at local cafes, dinner dates, and lazy evenings in watching TV and movies





My goals for the next 6 months:

*Baseball game (Lotte Giants in Busan?)

*Go to a rugby tournament

*Do a templestay

*Go zip-lining in Daegu

*Learn how to ride a horse

*Go to the Mud Festival

*Go to Namhae Island (Full Moon Party in June!)

*Visit the DMZ and Gyeongbokgung palace in Seoul

*Go to Kosu Cave



In the next 6 months (and counting), I hope to enjoy every minute of this crazy adventure. I don't know what is going to come next... but I do know I've got big plans for these next months and I don't plan on coming home with regrets.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb