Arriving and drinking!


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
August 19th 2006
Published: October 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Doha to Sigapore


SingaporeSingaporeSingapore

iknew i was back in asia but it didn't really feel liike it..
Day 1

A good fews hours later I arrived in Singapore Changi airport in the afternoon. Renouned as one of the cleanest cities in the world, I was expecting not to see a speck of dirt and was very dissapointed when I spotted more than one speck here and there! Soon enough my image of Singapore of police standing everywhere giving fines for spitting, littering and jay-walking were replaced by a more realistic one as I used the MRT (underground rail system)and walked down streets with my backpack in the quelching heat looking for a place to stay.

Finding my way to Little India I eventually found the hostel for me (with free beds). I checked into the Prince of Whales, threw my rucksack into my dorm and not bothering with a shower I went straight for the important things in life, a cool pint of beer! I met Nick from Scotland (living in Singapore) and had a fews pints with him at the bar. Next Ian from Canada joined us for more beer. Later food was needed and we ordered a banana leaf curry (masive banana leaf covered in curry with rice, veg and other various indian food.
MosqueMosqueMosque

the mosque on dunlop street
It was lovely but too much food at that moment in time..

Later again (had lost complete sense of time at this stage) we met Irish Emma and Claire and continued our session with them. When the hostel bar stopped serving, we went to the faithful Seven Eleven for cheaper beer and drank in the beer garden there. It was very late night, had great craic and the next day I had no jet lag, only a hangover!
Ive always said it the one way to combt jet lag is to get pissed!



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

MRT stationMRT station
MRT station

spotless!
residential buildingresidential building
residential building

no need for tumble dryers!
Little IndiaLittle India
Little India

internet


Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0282s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb