Singapore


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
February 10th 2014
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 1.28941, 103.85


I boarded the 'bum boat' from Tanjung Pengelih, Malaysia to Chiangi Port in Singapore, my bike was lifted onboard for the journey which would take around one hour. On route there are many cargo and other ships, they are working at filling an area from the land outwards with sand imported from Vietnam which in time will be an extension to Singapore and it's interesting watching how they are building.

On arrival I got through border control and after scanning all my luggage they allowed me to push my bike through, gave me a map of Singapore and directed me towards my destination which was kind. I had been invited to stay with friends Ed and Emily who I met at the start of my travels in Nepal while trekking and again in Siem Riep in Cambodia last year and Ed came to collect me to take me to their home. I was extremely grateful for their kind offer and was looking forward to meeting up again, although this time Em is 8 months pregnant, and I couldn't be more delighted for them, congratulations guys.

I had always wanted to visit Singapore and in particular the Marina Bay Sands Hotel which
is three towers with a ‘ship' built on top which links them all, and the whole bay area with the Singapore Flyer, the Cloud and Flower Domes, the Super Trees, the Durian and much more. My first impressions are of a very clean city which has wide highways and cycle lanes on the pavement area and several routes connected by the parks although isn't all that cycle friendly with the busy roads and style of driving.

On arrival I was treated to trip to the movies for the premier of ‘Philomena' which I have to say I enjoyed and it was lovely catching up with Ed and Em where I would stay for a few days. They live in an old army residence area which is beautiful with parks and gardens and only a short walk from local transport to explore the city. My first cycle out was to Little India, Chinatown and the Marina area, it has a nice feel to it and I enjoy my exploring. The bay still has many decorations from Chinese New Year which they are in the process of dismantling, I instantly love it, I've wanted to see this area for a long time and as usual take too many photos.

Ed and Em are very kind and show me around much of Singapore and I particularly enjoyed one evening where we had food down at the Marina area and watched a light show at the Super Treas before taking a walk round the bay which was all lit up. It has a completely different feel in the evening and I have to admit makes for better pictures. It's lovely being in a family home instead of hostels, I can relax, have a hot shower, make some food although at home Jodilyn looks after their son Ben and it's fun having a young'in around to play with, he's such a cracker, at 2 years old he shares my birthday and I love the way he say ‘Aunty Clare'... aw sweet.

I'm treated like one of the family and enjoy meals with them after work and although I cooked carbonara one night for us all, I was delighted by Friday nights roast chicken feast which Jodilyn prepared, and red wine which Ed bought which was delicious. I also met up with Karol and Anna who I originally met in Siem Riep which was lovely and Ed baked not one but two sponge cakes plus scones which we enjoyed on Sunday afternoon with fresh cream and strawberry jam out in the garden. It makes such a difference to be involved in a family atmosphere and I can't thank Ed and Em enough for their kindness of inviting me to stay, Ben is such an adorable wee boy and by the looks of it is going to be tall, he's full of chat and fun and I look forward to hearing their baby news! Have you packed your bag yet Em??

One of my main jobs in Singapore was to try and get a 60day Indovisa which I hadn't been able to get in Kuala Lumpur although they wouldn't tell me why. This time I booked a return ticket from Jakarta to Singapore which may have been the reason I had been refused before as I had no evidence of exit. Thankfully it proved to be a straightforward procedure, my application was accepted and I was told to return in a couple of days. This had happened in KL although when I returned they would only offer me one month instead of two which I wanted so I couldn't get my
Raffles BarRaffles BarRaffles Bar

Singapore Slingers
hopes up just in case.

On return I was happy to get my 60days which means I can relax about timescales, Indonesia has around 70,000 islands and although Sumatra is where I will start and is the largest island, that alone is rougly 2,500km long! On leaving the embassy I visited the Singapore Botanical Gardens, the gardens were extremely peaceful and I loved all the orchids as well as other plants, trees and the wildlife and once home I celebrated with Ed and Em and I have to say I was relieved to have got it.

I decided to stay with a ‘warmshower' host for a couple of days before leaving to prepare my bike and luggage for Sumatra, David stays out at a nearby university and I'm given my own room with use of the facilities and space to work on my bike which was kind. I was so impressed that I have managed to go through my back tyre which now has a hole in it and thankfully managed to change it although it was a bit of a struggle. David is pretty busy when I arrive but I appreciate the space, use of internet and not only that he takes me for food at the university canteen which is another money saver. Bizarly enough my brother in law John helped me fix my gears all the way from Ireland, we were on Skype chatting while I was demonstrating the problem and he gave me advice on how to fix it, watching and telling me what to do which was fantastic, ah the joys of technology. John has recently opened his own bicycle shop in Cork, Ireland called ‘McCarthy Cycles' and has been an incredible help on my journey, cycling is his passion so if you're in the area check out his shop, I wish him every success in his new venture although I'm sure he won't need it.

From the university I cycle out to to the west coast bay area and park which is lovely and has many tents pitched up along with available facilities. While visiting I came across a number of people with huge parrots, they bring them down to the park to train them and I'm over the moon when one guy hands me one and snaps a couple of pictures for me. They are magnificent birds, stunning colours of reds, blues, orange, yellows and it's interesting watching how they train.

One night I ventured into town to check out Raffles Bar, the home of the Singapore Slingers although this is a touristy thing to do I was fortunate enough to have been gifted American $20 at Christmas in Melaka by my friend Alvin to buy one while I'm in Singapore otherwise I wouldn't have been able to justify the expense. I managed to find Raffles on the local bus from the university and ventured in, it's an old fashion design with fans on the ceilings and the floor full of peanut shells which add to the atmosphere, and I enjoyed not one but 2 slingers as the bar staff had asked me to move along the bar, they gave me a free drink... result! The drinks are very expensive though working out at $33 Singapore dollars for one, that's around £15... way out of my budget, but I thoroughly enjoyed it!

So my time in Singapore comes to an end, I have decided to cycle back up to Melaka for the ferry over to Dumai as it's only a three hour crossing, this will give me the chance to see more of the west coast of Malaysia from Johor Bahru north.

It's been fun meeting up with friends and I was so pleased to see the Marina Bay area which had been on my list for a long time, I was glad I came and enjoyed.




Additional photos below
Photos: 49, Displayed: 27


Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 27; dbt: 0.03s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb