Bleary eyed in Singapore


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
March 27th 2005
Published: March 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

DragonfruitDragonfruitDragonfruit

mmm... exotic asian fruits
We arrived safely in Singapore (amist the rain... again). Singapore has been good from what we've seen so far. The one thing that's blown me away is how much of a nightlife there is in Singapore. Its a bit different when the shops are open until 10pm and not 6pm in Australia (There are also a high number of shopping centres quite odd for such a small area). There are fast food joints and food hawker stalls galore here. When I asked someone who had been here before on what there is to do... he just said eat and shop. He was right. There are so many different varieties of asian food to get here and its not just low grade food aimed towards westerners who don't know any better! One thing I'd have to warn people heading to Asia is to not underestimate the spice tolerance of Asians. I thought I could handle the two chili pepper out of three rating the spicy chicken miso ramen soup had... I think my mouth still burned for a good 15 minutes after I was done eating.
As for what we've done here (other than eating)... mom and I took the Singapore Airline explorer bus (cheaper if you have your boarding pass!) and headed for the beautiful Botanical Gardens. Inside there was the National Orchid Garden which was worth the time. I guess they create hybrids and then name them after dignitaries when they come to visit Singapore... there are Nelson Mandela, Laura Bush, etc orchids.

We're off to Hong Kong bright and early on the 6:45am flight! (ugh).


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.295s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 26; qc: 90; dbt: 0.0931s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb