Great days in Singapore.


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
October 3rd 2010
Published: October 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hi evryone and thanks for all the comments and messages- it really makes me feel good to get them.
If you are new to the blog thingy - the difference between making a comment and a message is that when I accept the comments they public on the blog - so anyone can read them...messages just sort of stay in my blog inbox....
So what have I been doing... well of course eating out here is a big feature and Fabien is great at knowing just where to go and what to eat when you get there. Sunday lunch Chinese tradition is Dim Sum ( a change from Sunday roast and yorkshires) and thats where we have just been...I will get Sharon to write down the names of all the different dishes so that next time I will know what to order myself...its a learning curve.... I liked it all and am getting better at the chopsticks. Also been eating lots of fish - had to have stingray with a crusted chili topping - wasn't that the little blighter that did for Steve Irwin? and last night it was sea bass on a bed of herb risotto. Is this getting boring all this talk about food.
I did wonder if my trip might be defined by food I ate!!!
Yesterday was lovely to meet up with Cher and her family - we knew her and her mum and dad in Dubai ...she is now a mum of 3...and they are gorgeous babes age 5, 3 and 1.
I have also been around on the MRT - finding my way to Little India, along Orchard road where all the shopping centres are, Boat Quay and Clarke Quay ( nitelife throbbing there and a fab water feature with coloured fountains ) down by the river and had a trip tothe Jurong Bird Park - but have decided I dont like seeing birds in captivity - give me a snowy owl sitting on a tree in Canada , or even a scarey Cassowary bird in the rainforest any day.
And when I have been too hot I just come "home" and go to the pool.
Have checked in for my flight to Perth now and leave ( ALREADY!!) tomorrow at 9.30am.
It's been a great stopover and got me into a good traveller frame of mind.
Oh and if you are in Singpaore watch out for uneven pavements - whacked my big toe into one down at Clarke Quay - lovely purple bruises match my nail polish - but just glad I didn't break - now that would not have been a good start.
Will attempt to put some photos onto this entry. Wish me luck. Next stop Australia.
Lv to all. xxx
PS for art lovers - some great sculpture dotted around - spotted a Henry Moore today.
PPS Ever tried chrysanthemum tea ? ...its really nice ..and good for you they tell me.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



3rd October 2010

terrific photos on your blog- we can travel vicariously. have a safe trip to aus.
4th October 2010

singapore
well dear pal.....what a city slicker you are! sounds like you hav ehad a marvellous time seeing whats what and eating xxxx and what a joy to meet up with old ...or former pals... you are such an inspiration for other would-be-retirees!!! lotsa love, lesley
4th October 2010

Stunning Photos!
Hi, Lynn - what super photographs, you are a clever lady... it almost feels like we are going on this journey with you, so thank you for that. Hope the flight to Perth is as comfortable as the first flight to Singapore, and take care of yourself when you arrive - chill out for a few days! Protect the sore toe, too. Love Dee

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0283s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb