ON MY WAY AT LAST.


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
October 1st 2010
Published: October 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello from Singapore… welcome to my blog and if you are new to it I hope you will enjoy keeping up with me…if you read blogs of my last travels then I hope you will not be bored and still keep up with me..
At last the long awaited departure day arrived and on Wednesday the lovely Ray kindly whisked me off to Heathrow. T 3 - has had some improvements I must say…good checkin and security but still rather cramped in the food area. Full marks to Singapore Air - they really are a super airline to fly with. I actually enjoyed the flight and didn’t really notice the time passing. I avoided looking at my watch and thought in chunks of time. So my time was spent reading the magazines, then a very nice meal, settled down to watch a docudrama about Van Gogh, then a favourite film Remains of the Day and by that time the cabin was darkened so I closed my eyes for a while…maybe I slept . Next I must have spent about an hour or so listening to music and enjoyed playing a word game and soon there was more food coming round and only a couple of hours to go. ( See Prill - its easy - just plan your time!!!) And soon we were arriving at Changi ,which must be one of the best airports in the world. Absolutely no hassle there, got some money out of an ATM and straight to a taxi…very orderly queuing and a nice chap telling you which taxi bay to go to. ( I must stop use “and then” all the time - any grammatical suggestions welcome, Lesley and Karen or any other teachers!!) When I was here 3 years ago I fell in love with Singapore on the way from the airport…magnificent very tall trees with huge canopies line the wide roads and banks and banks of beautiful shrubbery and flowers…it was even more lovely than I remembered.
I am staying with my French friend, Fabien and his fiancée, Sharon. We have been friends since he was a teenager and used to stay with us and practise his English…so he is rather like an honourary nephew to me. Since last time he has moved into a new apartment on the 15th floor with wall to ceiling windows and fantastic views across the Singapore skyline and a few metres from an MRT station. I had arrived late afternoon and my plan to beat jet lag is always try and adapt to the time zone I am in so out I went straight away and walked around past the National Museum - there are still some lovely old colonial buildings here among the skyscrapers, up through Canning Park where there is the oldest Christian church and found my way to the riverside … my plan to beat DVT too - get out and walk when I arrive somewhere. I had forgotten what its like to be in a hot country 34 deg- and haven’t quite got myself organised with a water bottle so it was a welcome relief at Clarke Quay where there are many restaurants and bars to sit in a lovely coffee shop with a glass of iced coffee and watch the darkness fall and all the lights along the riverside come on. Marilyn and Terry - you are going to LOVE it when you some. So next job was finding out how the MRT worked and how to buy tickets- easy - and the people are so friendly and helpful. Back to the apartment I went to meet Fabien - home from a long day at work - and a lovely big hug from him. We quickly made a plan as we were both starving and walked to a nearby Asian resto ( practising my Ozzie words here) Chimes - it is in a converted church building where there are also lots of little shops( Do you remember it Suz?). He always takes me to interesting places and does the ordering cos I haven’t got a clue… here we had a bucket of hot coals placed in a well in the centre of the table, and there were little strips of meat which we cooked , a lovely salad too and a special Korean rice cooked in a hot stone bowl at the table. By the time we got back to the apt I was ready for my bed and so that was my first day.
I must admit that even on the plane I was thinking “what am I doing - going away for 6 months- why don’t I just stay home?” But once I got here I could feel the excitement of it all and the reasons I set about doing this trip.
It has been monumental in the planning stages - not only the travelling but also getting my life and the house organised for all my lovely house swappers but that is all behind me now and I am going to reap the rewards now.
So Blog number 1 done… that’s enough of me blathering on…please send me messages back - its so easy via the blog.
Oh and Beeny and Flopsy are very happy here too….little buggers have been sitting around the infinity pool on the 9th floor gazing at the skyline… ooops sorry you folk who have had to go to work today!!!
Love and hugs to evryone xxxx


Advertisement



1st October 2010

soooo exciting
hello lynne love u one brave lady - your Michael would be that proud - he is travelling along with you in your heart and mind and keeping you safe and well and excited by it all lots love to you and take great care Lynnexxxx
1st October 2010

great read
Singapore is a place I would love to visit. After reading your blog I am certainly going to visit and very soon. Much love Take care Enjoy Janioce
1st October 2010

And your away!
Finally, it' happening rather just planning, planning, planning. We are madly researching and booking ourselves as we are squeezing in a trip to the USA, hopefully to see the Space Shuttle take off. This is after Morocco but before Spain! BUT, a 7 or 8 hour flight is nothing to we Aussies! Thanks for helping us with our 'parking' issue and we look forward to your next post.
1st October 2010

Wow, sounds like a great trip!
Great to hear from you Lynne, we are all part of that travel bug club I reakon. I got back 2 days ago from 6 weeks away in Utah, alaska, British Columbia and Mexico. Fab trip, keep us posted on yours. xx
1st October 2010

So pleased you are finally en-route!
Hi, Lynn Lovely to read of your great start to THE BIG TRIP - and that your flight and arrival in Singapore all went so well. I envy you enjoying sunshine in what sounds like a beautiful place; it has been raining all day in Eastbourne today and it now feels very Autumnal all of a sudden! You sound very organized, with your walking schedule and your attempts to beat jetlag; I think you are being very sensible about your health, as the last thing you want is to have your travels affected by health issues. So, keep well, and continue to explore your environment and enjoy meeting up with friends old and new. Have you started your journal or are you going to condense your blogs to create one when you return? It will be quite a read, I think (happy to be your editor when you get back!) I was so very sorry that I had to miss the last sewing afternoon at Jill's, but really did not want to risk giving any of you, and especially you, the shingles virus. I am feeling OK, thanks to the anti-viral medication, but it is a real bind having to take the high dose every 4 hours for 7 days. If it does the trick, though, it will be worth it - although it does seem to be causing me great fatigue at present. Hope to be back in circulation next week. My daughter tells me that she and her new hubby are flying to New South Wales/Queensland border for a 40th birthday of her best friend over the Thanksgiving weekend - end of November. It will be her first time in Australia, so she is excited! Look forward to reading your next blog - it is nearly as good as being there with you! Take care, and lots of love Dee x
2nd October 2010

Have fun
I am so glad you like Singapore.As that was where Derek was born I have always wanted to go and reading about it has made me want to go even more.Have fun and I look forward to reading more of your travels.
2nd October 2010

Hello from Muscat
So lovely to have another blog to follow. Glad you arrived safely in Singapore. We loved our visit there last year - such an amazing place. Enjoy every minute and take care. Lots of love Txxx PS have just spent the morning doing connectives with my class!
3rd October 2010

bon voyage!
Meant to say "happy travels and have a ball" before you left but better late than never! Glad the trip has started well and it will be great to catch up with you.Thanks for the itinerary by the way, sounds good to us. We'll be envious reading your blog but it will be an inspiration for us both as we see retirement on the horizon....! take care Diane and Dave
3rd October 2010

wow!
I so enjoyed reading this on a wet Sunday night in Newcastle! Envy doesn't come close to how I'm feeling. Still, good for you for doing it and inspiring the rest of us. My bit of news is I have a new man in my life. Aha, you're thinking, why didn't she mention him when we went out that night? Well, that dear Lynne was because he hadn't been born then, he's my latest grandson, Noah, born two weeks ago and cute as anything. Got to go now, costume drama on Sun nights that I'm getting addicted to. Keep on bloggin! Enjoy yoyurself. Much love, Sue xx

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb