Singapore


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
February 28th 2006
Published: March 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Saying goodbye to Dad.Saying goodbye to Dad.Saying goodbye to Dad.

He's dressed up in his kilt to leave early to go and compete in the Auckland Pipe Band competitions. Hope it was a successful day Dad. PS Thanks for the use of your car (behind campervan) Rowena.
Hi everyone reading my first "real" blog about Singapore
The flight was all good and got a little sleep. I went very quickly through customs etc, since the place was almost deserted at 2.30am, and stepped out of the airport building into an oven even though it was the middle of the night! It stayed like that the entire time and was somewhere well up in the 30's and very humid. I got used to it though and didn't find it unpleasant. The air conditioning in the hostel was a necessary luxury for sleeping.
The second things I noticed were the lovely trees and gardens and the cleanliness of the place. No litter, butts, gum or even leaves on the ground. I only saw one tiny piece of graffiti the whole time I was there. The gardens were perfectly manicured all over the island and the rich tropical growth just lovely.
The city has four distinct cultures and each area has its own character; Colonial, Malay, Chinese and Indian. You'll see this in the photos but along with the sights there were the smells and the sounds that the photos can't portray.
I easily filled my two days sightseeing and packed
The final shot at the airport.The final shot at the airport.The final shot at the airport.

Ali drove Mum and I up and they waved me off on my adventure.Thanks for helping me get away!!
it in until after midnight both days. Some highlights were the Night Safari at the zoo, the markets of Chinatown and Little India, the Botanic Gardens, a river cruise, the Asian Civilisations Museum, the Art Museum and Sentosa Island. I really enjoyed Singapore. It was easy to get around with English spoken by everyone, the people were friendly and helpful and I felt very safe. Two days was not really long enough to get more than a taste of the place.
There's lots of photos here, hope not too many! Take care everyone and see you next blog.
Love Dee.



Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

My first photo in Singapore.My first photo in Singapore.
My first photo in Singapore.

It's the new Theatres on the Bay on the Esplanade and modelled on a fruit.
Another shot of my hotel.Another shot of my hotel.
Another shot of my hotel.

Just kidding...I was actually in a cheap but central and clean hostel. Took this photo for the gardens.
A cool sculptureA cool sculpture
A cool sculpture

Photo taken from a famous old bridge over Singapore river.
Raffles HotelRaffles Hotel
Raffles Hotel

I used the toilet in here but didn't pay $28 for the famous gin sling
With my Welsh friend Suzanne at the Botanic GardensWith my Welsh friend Suzanne at the Botanic Gardens
With my Welsh friend Suzanne at the Botanic Gardens

I met Suzanne at the bus stop on the first morning and we spent the day together. Thanks Suzanne, hope Vietnam is going well and that we meet again.
NZ connectionNZ connection
NZ connection

This was amongst other orchids named after famous people.
The orchid gardens were beautifulThe orchid gardens were beautiful
The orchid gardens were beautiful

I loved the scented ones and frangipani too.
CBD skylineCBD skyline
CBD skyline

Photo taken from the top of the Theatre building
Just so you can see I really was there!Just so you can see I really was there!
Just so you can see I really was there!

The mother Merlion in the background...half mermaid, half lion.
Statue marking the spot where Raffles stepped ashore. Statue marking the spot where Raffles stepped ashore.
Statue marking the spot where Raffles stepped ashore.

Sir Stamford Raffles claimed this spot and the colony was begun.
An authentic bumboatAn authentic bumboat
An authentic bumboat

Can you see its eyes? I did the River Cruise on one of these.
The old and the newThe old and the new
The old and the new

Boat Quay which was a trading place but is now shops, restaurants etc.


3rd March 2006

Mousaffa
If you get the chance to shop in little India call at Mousaffa Mousaffa a huge department store and very cheap.
3rd March 2006

Hey hey mammy!
Phat blog! Sweet photos, never to many! They got heaps of Ooooooos and Aaaaaaaaaaahs from us, miss u, luv u...
3rd March 2006

great photos
Loved the photos Dee. The buildings look fascinating with all their different styles. Look forward to hearing about the horse coming out of the egg when you get back. Look forward to the next leg. Thanks for the wine, glad the car was of use.
4th March 2006

Great Start!
Glad it's all going well. Wow - you know how to pack in heaps in 48 hours!!Great photos. All's quiet in Waiuku.....
6th March 2006

6th March
We loved the photos. Hope you have a ball. Ben is a really hard case but I will get him in line. He does not agree. Hope to here from you soon.
14th March 2006

that fruit is called Durian
19th March 2006

on Travel & pix
Just great Dee - seen it at Josaphines - love the foto's !!!
8th April 2006

Hey Dee That bad smelling fruit in Singapore is Durian hope you tried it a mix between garlic and banana maybe??

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0571s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb