Day 2 Singapore


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
January 7th 2009
Published: January 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So today is my second full day in Singapore. Had a busy day yesterday - went around the city with some guys from the hostel. Went to the Sultan Mosque, two churches, and a Chinese and a Hindu temple. Had some great Indian food. Singapore is a really cool city - the mix of cultures is really interesting.

Speaking of which today I'm going to try to go to the Asian Civilizations museum. It is supposed to be excellent, and includes exhibits from India, China, Southeast Asia, etc.

Also has AC :P

Tomorrow I think I'm going to go to Melacca. I haven't booked a hostel yet but I don't think that should be a problem.

Unfortunately I am still suffering from severe jet lag, and am not feeling too smart right now, so I'll make it a short entry. Hopefully tonight I'll sleep better, and my next entry from Melacca or Kuala Lumpur should be better.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Bill in the Sultan MosqueBill in the Sultan Mosque
Bill in the Sultan Mosque

Lookin kinda sickly here. But check out the cool robe.
Bill and Vishnu (?)Bill and Vishnu (?)
Bill and Vishnu (?)

In Little India.
Big Gold Buddha.Big Gold Buddha.
Big Gold Buddha.

Tons of people rubbing his belly.
Hindu Temple.Hindu Temple.
Hindu Temple.

Oddly enough I only saw Chinese people burning incense outside. Very Singaporean.
Big Church.Big Church.
Big Church.

St Pauls? St Andrews? Something like that. They also had an Armenian one that I didn\'t photograph. Crazy that there are Armenians even in Singapore.
Crazy building.Crazy building.
Crazy building.

Singapore's architecture is a really cool mix of modern stuff like this, colonial buildings, and more typically "Asian" buildings.


Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0243s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb