Melaka


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Melaka » Melaka City
January 13th 2009
Published: January 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It's my second day in Melaka. Got stuck in Singapore for a few days - at first I thought I was getting sick but I think it was just allergies from all the plants - and then had to stick around one more day because all the buses were booked.

Anyways Melaka is pretty interesting. It's a UNESCO heritage site, having been ruled by the Portuguese, Dutch, and then the British for about 150 years each. Lots of cool colonial buildings.

It's really really hot here. Maybe because Singapore is surrounded by sea it's not so bad. Either way I got a lot of sun today and look like a tomato now. Unfortunately I don't have any pictures.

So the Chinese here (my hostel is in Chinatown) are all getting ready for the Chinese New Year. I guess the PM of Malaysia was here the night before last to give a speech for it. Lots of red lanterns hung up everywhere.

I'm going to go to KL tomorrow. Don't really know what to expect but hopefully it will be cool. I'm going to try to buy a Malaysian SIM card there, and if and when I do
Monks in a Chinese temple.Monks in a Chinese temple.Monks in a Chinese temple.

Kind of a crappy picture - I didn't want to use my flash. They were doing chants and burning incense in preparation for the Chinese New Year. In a different temple than the previous picture.
I'll post my number so if anyone wants to call they can.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

CannonsCannons
Cannons

The funny thing is they're pointed across the river (which is pretty narrow) and not out to sea. Don't know why.
Christ Church.Christ Church.
Christ Church.

Built by the Dutch.
Water and observations wheels.Water and observations wheels.
Water and observations wheels.

The sign said that the water wheel is Malay and not colonial in origin. London Eye-style observation wheel off to the right.
Church across the river.Church across the river.
Church across the river.

Really colonial. Could almost be Europe or Latin America or something.
Portuguese pavement.Portuguese pavement.
Portuguese pavement.

Just like in Rio or Lisbon.


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb