KL


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
January 16th 2009
Published: January 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Statue in front of Batu Cave.Statue in front of Batu Cave.Statue in front of Batu Cave.

This is some Hindu god that Tamils are especially into. Can't remember the name.
So I have been in KL for 2 days now. It is really nice here - to be honest I'm liking it a lot more than I thought I would. It's kind of like if Singapore was more of a "real city". Much more alive and more laid back at the same time I would say. Really diverse, very bustling, very hi tech, and really really good food. I'm guessing Malaysia right now is a lot like South Korea or Taiwan were in the 80's.

Anyways, the night I got here I went to the KL Tower, which is a building like the Space Needle, and took some pictures of the Petronas towers. You can't actually go up the Towers; at 8 in the morning they do hand out passes to walk across the skyway, which is on about the 40th floor, and I'm not sure whether or not I'll get around to doing that.

And then yesterday I went with a guy I met from Minneapolis to the Batu Cave, which is a Hindu holy site. Can't really say much about it as they didn't have any tourist info - I think it was built/discovered in the 1890's
StepsStepsSteps

Yes, it sucked.
and is frequented more by Tamils. They have a huge festival every year which will be in the next few weeks.

That is really it for now. Today I went to a shopping center to try to get my phone unlocked (again) so that I can use it with a Malaysian SIM card, but they are all telling me it's impossible. Perhaps I'll get lucky and stumble upon a used phone or something.

I will be staying in KL for a few more days still, perhaps longer. Really like it here.

I've also been fleshing out the details of my trip a little bit more. I will work my way up through Southern Thailand, and then will head for Bangok around February 12th or so. Then I will head north and do Chaing Mai and maybe Laos (the backpackers Mecca - everybody only has amazing things to say about it), and then I will fly to Indonesia from Bangkok in early March right before I return home (have already bought my ticket to Bali).

In a few days I'll do another entry from KL.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Monkeys at Batu Cave.Monkeys at Batu Cave.
Monkeys at Batu Cave.

They essentially live on food tourists give them. Had no problem walking right up to us.
Petronas towers.Petronas towers.
Petronas towers.

Up in the KL Tower, which is a kind of Space Needle-like thing. A little bit of glare from the glass.
The City.The City.
The City.

You can see the Petronas Towers and the Monorail line. All the other buildings are shopping centers. Malaysians love shopping.


Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0687s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb