We have lift off!


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
December 27th 2008
Published: December 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After a very busy week in Melbourne getting organised, packing up and saying good by to everyone I am pleased to say 'we have lift off'. I left Melbourne airport late last night bound for Singapore (via Bangkok... long story, don't ask) and arrived safe and well some 12 hours later.

Oh and while I think of it, if any of you guys think that leaving for a trip like this (indefinitely) to go around world on boxing day makes sense... your horribly wrong. Getting ready to go overseas for a long time is one thing but doing it on the tail end of Christmas is simply mad. In hind sight an extra week would have been better.

Also big thanks to all the family and Jon and Jim for seeing me off at the airport last night. I must admit waiting to leave at the airport was a very surreal experience and one that I will always remember. I remember thinking to myself just after I walked through the departure gates and sat down by myself for the first time..... 'shit.. I actually have to follow through with all this now' and said to myself 'now what am I going to do?'.

Until then it had just all been a crazy idea a few months ago and lots of planning so that I could go.. I hadn't actually given any thought to what I would do once i left. In fact the only thing I did plan (and that was about only about 6 hours before I left for the airport) was the first night accommodation in Singapore.

So anyway, I'm going to sign off for the moment and get some sleep. Its been a long and interesting 24hrs and I look forward to updating you all over the coming months this way. I'll try and update this blog every week or so, so feel free to check back whenever you have five minutes spare.

Love to all and happy New Year.

Traveldog.


Advertisement



27th December 2008

TRAVEL DOGGIE
YAY travel dog! Glad you arrived safe and sound. Hope thoes few pints settled you in nicely last night! Keep us updated. Jules x
27th December 2008

I Love Technology
Fantastic to get your first Blog. Ah it brings back the memories - frustrating ones, of trying to do this in Italy with dodgy internet connections. I can remember spending hours trying to down load photos. It seemed like a good idea at the time, but mostly it was hugely frustrating. Mind you my available technology and the users expertise (me) was probably sadly lacking in all departments. So I guess by now you are in the heat and hustle and bustle of a foreign country. Nothing is familar, well maybe the odd McDonalds. Have fun, stay out of trouble and I look forward to your next exciting installment. Love you heaps. Mum

Tot: 0.236s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb