My first hostel.. downtown Singapore


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
December 30th 2008
Published: December 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Wow, what a culture shock! Its safe to say that a; I threw myself in the deep end and b; my first hostel was a nasty experience. I can see I am going to have to spend a little more time from now on choosing them more carefully. Its appears I managed to choose the worst one in pretty much the worst suburb of Singapore.. beginners luck hey. ooh and smell, I don't think I'll ever get that nasty chow-min smell out of my head wafting up from down stairs...eeeehh.

This place was amazing, there must have been 30 people staying there and it was only about 10 squares in size. It would have been about the size of a normal two bed room apartment in Australia, no kidding. The toilet cubicles doubled as the shower ( and there were only three for everyone to share) and one had to be careful showing so as not to slip and fall on the toilet when the floor was wet.

None the less I made it work and still enjoyed the experience. Didn't actually get to speak to anyone though for the three days, I think it was a locals only kinda place... no foreigners etc... and couldn't understand a word anyone said. The other funny thing was I actually booked two beds for myself so that I could have a room all to myself... arrogant I know, but I wanted to settle into to this backpacker thing gently.

Lesson #1. Read the fine print on the web when booking hostels next time.

P.S Sorry didn't even get any pics, what was I thinking? think I was in shock...


Advertisement



31st December 2008

hostel name and area?
look forward to hearing more of your journey, I am hoping to head from Singapore and into SE Asia one day!
31st December 2008

Empire Hostel
Hi, thanks for the feedback. Hostel name is Empire Hostel and is about 10 mins walk from Farrer Park station North East of the city.

Tot: 0.258s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb