Sleepless in Singapore


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
October 20th 2005
Published: October 22nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well started the next leg of my journey and have just spent three nights in Singapore. Made it to the hostel o.k after taking the local bus where the bus driver was kind enough to remember not to tell me when to get off. Luckily I was just about awake and had been watching the street names so I only had to go on one extra stop. Hostel was above a bar in one of the new up and coming red light districts of Singapore. A street filled with bars and Hotel 81's which apparently are rented by the hour! Nevermind. The accommodation iteself was o.k. and i shared a room with 5 teachers from Thailand. Made friends with two girls from London - Jen and Priya who are on a trip around Asia and South America. After talking to them I now have a few more places I would like to add to my long list of countries to visit one day!

In Singapore there is lots to see and do. It was very hot and humid with lots of showers when I was there. The girls and I decided to see Chinatown and really enjoyed the Chinese Heritage museum which told the story of Singapore and how it developed. Went on a Night Safari which was a bit disappointing once you realise they play out sound recordings of animals from loud speakers and I am sure the rhino's were fake! Not quite the same when you have been on an actual safari but I did enjoy seeing the leopards and Jen got called on stage to take part in a fire swallowing act oh and I got to stroke a snake!

Visited Sentosa which apart from the night Fountain show was a bit of a rip off. A bit like a Butlins type holiday camp but a whole island. Glad I went but wouldn't go again. Topped off my stay with a cocktail from the 71st floor of the Swisshotel with amazing views of Singapore at night. Excellent.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.232s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1128s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb