The Singapore Cable Car Museum - a ride through history


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Sentosa Island
July 13th 2013
Published: July 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Saturday, 13th July 2013


We have a magnificent natural harbour, one of the finest in the world. A ride in a cable car will provide the visitor with a magnificent panorama of the harbour. It will, I hope, at the same time make Singaporeans more conscious and more proud of their city, whose economic life blood flow through this great port."
Dr Goh Keng Swee (15th February 1974)


I woke up on Saturday morning thankful that I didn't have to go back to the office. Before long, I had put on my walking shoes and headed straight to the Cable Car Museum in Sentosa to continue with my museum-quests in Singapore.

I chanced upon this museum on someone's blog the other day. He was telling that the admission was free even though the brochures stated that it's SGD 3 per entry for non-cable car patrons. Much to my delight, it seemed that this ruling was not strictly enforced upon.

For some reason, the huge picture at the museum's entrance depicting our nation's first cable car in 1974 evoked great memories. Don't get me wrong. I've NEVER ridden on a single cable car in Singapore all these years. And its unlikely ever to happen in future as well given the hefty SGD 26 round trip fares.

The very image of the iconic cable car was entrenched as part of my growing up memories as a child in the 1980s. I guess pictures of the now defunct Sentosa Monorail would also evoke that same feelings of nostalgia and the fact that it is sadly no longer around.

As I traced my past and connect with the present, there is always a feeling that things are moving far too quickly. Probably that explained why I was staring at the picture for a long time today while the average tourist simply whizzed past the exhibits in a flash.

45 minutes should be sufficient to give this fine museum a visit including time to pose pictures with the iconic cable cars. This must be one of the hidden gems in Sentosa worth a look for fellow Singaporeans out there.

Getting there (for non-cable car patrons): Alight at Imbiah Station on the Sentosa Express. Head towards the direction of Imbiah Lookout. The Museum is located at basement 2 of the cable car station beneath the souvenir shops.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.322s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 76; dbt: 0.2259s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb