Singapore!


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Little India
March 18th 2009
Published: March 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello!!

OK... finally on to South Asia! :o)

I arrived in Singapore in the evening and got a taxi to the hostel - the taxi driver was really lovely and chatted to me the whole way, giving me lots of advice and tips about Singapore, as well as a general history lesson! I had been told that the people in Singapore are unbelievably friendly and welcoming and it was true!

Unfortunately, the hostel only had room for one night so my plan of having a lie in and trying to get over the tonsillitis was ruined as I had to check out early the next morning and find another hostel! However, in hindsight im glad because i didnt like the hostel that much and the beds were so close to eachother that it felt like i was sharing a double bed with the Scottish guy next to me! I ended up moving to a little hostle in Little India, a Muslim area, which was really really lovely - so relaxed and cosy and right next to the most beautiful mosque so you could constantly hear the prayers echoing from the mosque - for the first time since travelling I actually got shivers and felt like i really was worlds away from home! :o)

Unfortunately, i didnt get to do very much in Singapore - most of my first day was spent at the doctors/hospital tending to my tonsils which by that time looked like huge white golf balls so i gave in and went to get antibiotics! On my third day I met a lovely German girl and went to Singapore's famous night zoo with her and her Singaporean friend, which was really cool seeing the nocturnal animals (although my new second-hand camera is a bit rubbish so couldn't get any photos in the dark, although i think i might have since realised that my partly me being blonde hehe!)! Apart from that we just wandered around lots, went shopping etc and marveled at how clean and westernized Singapore is!

I really loved Singapore and wish I could have enjoyed it more and seen more, but even despite the tonsillitis I still enjoyed it! Everyone is so friendly, speaks perfect English, it is so clean and there is so much culture there!

I then got the bus to Kuala Lumpur which took about 5 hours and really reminded me of buses in South America, maybe even nicer, with almost fully-reclining seats, lots of room etc. but also like South America way too cold as they get a little over-enthusiastic with the air conditioning! :o)

Lots of love xxxxxxxxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb