Cairns!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Cairns City
March 18th 2009
Published: March 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello!!

There is a lot of nagging going on about putting up my orangutan pictures (im sure its quite obvious who that certain someone is hehe!) so im just going to quickly race through Cairns and Singapore so I can get to the orangutans!!

We spent about 4 days in Cairns which was really fun, it was very relaxed and we spent most of our time at the lovely pool at the hostel or at the salt water lagoon in Cairns which was really nice and free! :o) Our day trip snorkelling on the Great Barrier Reef was definitely the highlight though despite the fact that we were both really really seasick! :o( The coral was absolutely amazing, we saw sooo many colourful fish and even petted a humongous fish (ive forgotten the name of it now) who is very people-friendly and always swims around the same spot waiting for people to come and pay her attention! :o) The day we went, there was a special offer on which included a ride in a glass submarine which we did and which was also really interesting! The snorkelling was absolutely amazing compared to the snorkelling in the Whitsunday islands - the water was soo clear you could see for miles (almost!) and the fish and coral was amazing! We hired an underwater camera and took lots of photos (again on a CD which is already at home so no photos yet im afraid!) which I havent even looked at yet so cant wait to see them when I get home! It was really interesting learning about the Great Barrier Reef although sad as apparently already 80% has been destroyed at there will be no Great Barrier Reef in 15years - which i really hope is not true as it is so so so beautiful!!

Flying to Singapore turned out to be an absolute disaster! Greg and I both went to the airport together as his flight back home was 10minutes before mine! I had raging tonsilitus and could barely swallow and then wasnt allowed on the flight as STA had forgotten to attach my ticket number to my booking so although my name was on the list, I wasnt allowed to board! I spent an hour trying to sort it out and get hold of STA but to no avail so in the end I ended up paying for another ticket, on the off-chance that I would be allowed to board my connecting flight to Singapore in Brisbane! Luckily it all worked out OK and they managed to sort everything out for me in Brisbane and i just (with about 2 minutes to spare!) made my flight to Singapore! :o)

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 14; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0867s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb