Arrived in Singapore!


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Little India
March 4th 2009
Published: March 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

A nightmare journey over here, nearly missed my connection in Dubai but made it hear in 1 piece with my bags which is a bonus, they wouldn't feed me on the plane over because I mention I had a food allergy and they prefered I starved to death rather than have a reaction, meant I thought I was going to pass out when I arrived for my connection, and as our plane was late the airport staff were trying to find me and other passengers to quickly get us onto our connection. I did the mature thing and dodged the airport staff in search of food, then made it onto the plane with miliseconds to spare.

Passed out once I'd got to the hotel, when Helen came in a few hours later rather than being pleased to see her I shouted something at her in my sleep thinking I was still in Africa - not the nicest way to greet your friend after a long flight! But after some sleep we found some great food, lots of rice and noodles.

I think Singapore might be the most opposite place in the world to Kampala. Very clean and organised, and signs and people telling you what to do everywhere you go. Everything runs a lot quicker and at the momment I'm missing the laid back attitude in Uganda and not having to rush. Crossing the road has atchally become more stressful than Africa with the no jaywalking law - me and Helen have become paranoid tourists who walk for miles to find a pedestrian crossing. It's very humid here but not as hot as Uganda, however it is the land of air-conditioning, you go from hot to cold constantly and it's so cold inside!

Everyone here is really really helpful, and it's been relativley easy to find our way around. Although we walked for ages in the wrong direction today trying to find an embassy. Spent today trying to get a visa for China which hopefully will be accepted and we can pick it up on Friday. Means we're leaving for Malaysia over the weekend and really looking forward to it, going directly by train to Kuala Lumpur. Just brought the train ticket and the computer won't let me print it off which is causing my some stress, I think I might just unplug the computer and take it with me to the station - I'm sure that'll go down well.

Advertisement



5th March 2009

CRAZY KIDS
It's mental how quickly your time is going, and so strange that Helen is now there with you!! Mental... just can't get my head around it! haha when you said about the tourists looking for a pedestrian crossing... I so had an image of you both with little backpacks running around :) Made me smile!! Miss you lots!! XXXXXXXXXXXXX

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb