Leaving Uganda, heading to Singapoo


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Kampala
March 1st 2009
Published: March 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Uganda


Made it in one piece back to Kampala and I've attached myself to a computer in an attempt to answer weeks of unanswered emails and sort things for the next part of the trip. I'm so excited about this fast internet and I think I'm going to have a very early night! Got a bit of a nightmare packing situation, I've got to get rid of stuff else it won't all fit in for the next part of the trip. Although what amused me, when I was packing I gave some of my clothes to the guys to give to their sisters etc, and I was about to throw out a battered pair of broken flipflops I brought here for 1500UGX which is about 40p, the guys were horrified at the waste and insisted that I had them fixed, which cost 200UGX (0.07p) and now they're pefect and I've packed them for Singapore!!

Just been finishing everything up here this week. 2 of the new volunteers left on Friday and the house was quite empty again! Me and Micheala had a 'girly' evening Africa style and I soaked my feet for a few hours and I realised that I wasn't at all tanned it was all orange dust, it was quite disgusting. I've spent most of the week cleaning orange dust off all of my belongings. Finished at the orphange this week which was sad, we took 4 of the younger girls out for cookies and soda which they loved and the 4 of them sat in the cafe chatting away and giggling which was lovely. Going to miss the kids esspecially the two who've got attached to me, but at the same time I know that they probably won't remember me next week!

Spent the week trying to see everyone before I leave. I've met loads of really interesting people, and some slightly wierd whilst I've been here, some doing some fantastic voluntary work, had dinner last night with a girl who was one of president Bush's speech writers, and the night before we went to a party for 2 American backpackers who had got married after knowing each other for a week - made for an interesting party. Won't I won't miss about Jinja is the gossip, I've felt like my every move has been talked about and everything I say has been discussed, by both the Ugandans and other volunteers. It was sad saying goodbye to Benji and Santos and some of the other Ugandans who have been around a lot, they're all really sad I'm going to Singapoo (how they pronounce Singapore!!). I think if I ever came back to Uganda to do something similar to the last 2 months I'd have to go somewhere less touristy than Jinja, having people constantly passing through and only staying a few weeks creates quite a strange environment to live in.

Me and some of the other female volunteers created our own guide to surviving in Uganda, I think these are some of the most important points for any girl travelling here. Firstly you have to learn to speak to men with a lot of respect, (use 'sebbo' meaning sir regularly) anyone who knows me will know I don't often bite my tongue and tend to say exactly what I think. Well when dealing with Ugandan men this doesn't work so well, and so many times in the house I've had to walk away as the guys cannot deal with being told they're wrong by a girl. Secondly is understanding the highway code here, drivers break for other cars (occassionally), animals, people, children, but not Muzungu's (white people) as it's far more entertaining to make the muzungu's panic and run! Also it's important to realise that however much time you spend with the Ugandan's, we will never ever really be able to understand them or where they've come from. Lastly as a white person, it doesn't matter what you do, what you wear or how you act, your going to get stared at and talked about!! So you might as well just do what you want!!

Riiight I have some serious packing and organising to do, I've just realised that catching my flight tomorrow (which up until a few days ago I thought was on Tuesday - thank god I didn't miss it!!) will be the first time since I've been here that I'll have to arrive somewhere on time, and if I'm an hour late it will matter!! So I'd better be organised!!

Advertisement



1st March 2009

Lessons in life in Uganda
I love your survival guide! It has obviously been quite a challenge being both muzungu and a girl in last 8 weeks! Hope things improve in Singapoo. XX
26th March 2009

Good Advice
Good Advice about talking to Ugandan Men, it's true our culture doesn't respect a woman's view as much as the man's view, however i think the more men in Uganda are exposed to challenging views from women whether foreign or ugandan, the more likely we, as a culture will move from the feeling that it is seen as disrespect to a ugandan man to being able to agree to disagree. Thanks for the advice.

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0666s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb