Arriva De Singapore!!!


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Jurong West
January 4th 2009
Published: January 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

OMG...Is that really my alarm going off already? I stayed up until 3am and watched the Liverpool game last night (idiot) so am feeling really tired this morning. It's a very sad day today as I find myself checking out of the Matahari Lodge and making my way across to the LRT Station for the short trip to KL Sentral. I just want to take this opportunity to say a quick but massive thank you to Mann, Lee and Zack for everything they have done for the past 17 days, if ever you needed three guys to be there and support you through the angst of Xmas and New Year in a foreign land, then these guys did that and more! It was really sad to leave but the Outer Box Experience must continue on its merry way huh!! Once again, I allowed myself the relatively small luxury of travelling to the Airport on the 'High Speed' KLIA Ekspress, which due to essential engineering works on the line took seven minutes longer than usual which prompted endless apologies from semi stressed operator via the intercom - I wasn’t at all worried (for a change), us Brits are used to travel delays...for the Malaysians though, this was a major catastrophe!!! Once I had checked in and been informed that the flight was only half full with 49 passengers, I made my was through immigration and down towards the departure gate. At this point, I thought to myself, it's very quiet down here and as I turned around to survey my surroundings, I was horrified to discover I was actually the ONLY passenger in sight...This Worried Me Considerably and I was actually relieved when I finally encountered another stray traveller 200 yards further down looking equally alone! The flight was nice and smooth, as was the landing at a very wet and humid Changi Airport...I had arrived in Singapore! The first thing I noticed was just how clean the place was, I was actually very scared to breathe and also wondered whether I should remove my trainers out of courtesy to walk across the gleaming floor. Equally worrying was how deserted the Immigration Dept was, I actually had time to stop and retie my laces and grab a City Guide before 'sauntering' over to the nearest Officer to process me without the necessity to queue, THIS NEVER HAPPENS...I was Gobsmacked!! Even my case was meandering its lonely way around a deserted baggage belt...so I grabbed it and made my way out into arrivals to meet my transfer to the Hotel (Yes Jan, all fine thank you)!! It didn’t take me long to locate the bar and because they had a BOGOF beer promotion, I just had to indulge...well you would, wouldn’t you hehehe. Once I had consumed my Singapore Style Sweet and Sour Pork, I retired to my room


Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0269s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb