Day 4


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Chinatown
October 7th 2010
Published: October 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

As you all know, I went to Chinatown today. It was really amazing! I actually prefered it to Little India, but it's a close one. They have just had their Mid-Autumn Moon festival (or something along those lines...) Anyway the whole street was decorated - much like Little India - but my cab driver said it is always decorated for the different festivals and celebrations which is pretty cool! So when I got there I found a street off the main road, with loads of shops and market stalls selling everything you could imagine really, souveniers, gifts, chinese dresses, (not sure what they're called) cameras, jewellery, all that stuff... and at the end of the street was a temple - it was incredible! Almost like a work of art (I got loads of pictures) and inside were half naked men - I didn't take any pictures of that. So after walking down the whole street buying little bits and bobs i decided to go and buy some food - the cab driver had told ...well more insisted... that i try sweet pork or something along those lines - so i did, well atleast I think I did, and it was soo nice I bought more for later haha. I then went for a proper meal in a Chinese restaurant (keeping with the theme of China and all I thought it was appropriate) I had some ridiculously nice spring rolls and some chicken dish which wasn't great but atleast I had one nice meal - and also in this place, I was pretty much the only customer so the entire time a table of, who i assume were people that worked there, just stared at me - I thought 'am I eating this wrong or something?!' So I pretty much left as quick as I could! So after a long, long day I came back to the hostel and as I had missed out on dumplings, which dad reminded me about, I went to this random food court place down the road from the hostel and bought some - they were pretty good actually! Anyway when I got back in the hostel I was on a major high - a mixture of having a really good day and total excitement about going to Sydney tomorrow!! I have really liked Singapore - it is an amazing place but I cannot wait for Sydney!!! So this time tomorrow I will be on my second flight in my adventure...on my way to Sydney! Also, I'm not sure if there will be computers in Sydney or if they will be this easy to get onto so there may be a reduction in my blogs...sorry! But keep checking anyway! Goodnight everyone, Anna.

Advertisement



7th October 2010

China town
So glad you had such a perfect day to round off your Singapore visit
8th October 2010

Mum
Yeah me too - my first stop has definitely ended on a high!
16th October 2010

Can always rely on a cabbie
Wow! Sounds like one hell of a last day in Singapore! Sounds like fun in that temple! You can always rely on a local cabbie for some advice/guidance wherever you are in the world - and whether or not you asked for it!! Jealous as ever xx

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb