Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
October 10th 2010
Published: October 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

First of all, apologies for skipping a few days (means I can't do the whole...'day 1..2 etc.' which I thought was pretty good, but I'm sure I'll survive). Anyway, I am now in Sydney...my second day. I arrived in Sydney after a long flight (didn't sleep a wink which was not fun, although I did watch some movies and Michael McIntyre which is always a good thing!) So I got a shuttle bus transfer from the airport to the hostel which was helpful. I got to the hostel around 9am so went straight to bed once I was in the room...woke up at 1.30 - not so refreshed if I'm honest. I decided I should probably go for some 'breakfast' but went to Woolworths (oh yes, Woolworths - so I've got a little bit of England here!) first for a Sim card and some time on the internet. Then after a stressful time trying to activate my Sim card (which a man did for me anyway) I went for some food...breakfast at 3.30! I bought a sandwich and a drink and it cost me $13.50!!! Slightly ridiculous if you ask me. After that it was back to the hostel. I sorted myself out a bit and later went out for a couple of drinks with a girl from my dorm which was really nice, we went to 'Scary Canary's' - a bar next door where all the hostelers go! Got home around 11.30 and went straight to bed. 4.30 am - some people come storming into our room, turned on the lights, making a load of noise about something or other (ohhhh JOY!) so that added a bit of excitement to the day. Woke up at 9.30 and went out with a girl (Katy - a friend of Pat and Tony) and she showed me around a bit, we went to the Opera house/Harbour Bridge and had a brief walk through Botanical gardens...was really nice and I am going back tomorrow for a longer look and maybe walk across the bridge too! And finally, tonight I went out with a pair that I met in Singapore who came to Sydney today; we went for dinner at Darling Harbour and then a walk to George Street ending up at the Opera house which is so beautiful at night! The City really is amazing all lit up at night! I am having a great time, despite brief periods of homesickness, and I can't wait to see more of these amazing things and places. So now I am off to bed for a good nights sleep. Goodnight everyone, Anna.

Advertisement



16th October 2010

Afternoon Brunch
Woolworths still exists down there?! I knew they couldn't have killed it off completely, it's just on holiday! Haha don't worry too much about the jet-lag, let's be honest, at home having afternoon brunch at 3:30pm after a good night out is perfectly acceptable! :) So glad you're making some friends and it sounds like quite a day of site-seeing, and I bet the gardens are beautiful too! Send me a postcard if you can! Hope you eventually get a good night sleep xx
17th October 2010

tom - woolworths
haha i know when i saw it i was like - ohhhh my god i have travelled back in time... it was freakin awesome! my friend from singapore and sydney (rachel) has also come to melbourne and we are doing the neighbours tour tomorrow which should be really good!!! i will send a load of postcards when i get to perth - can barely find the time to send mum and dad a postcard haha! big hug xxx

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb