Day 3


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Little India
October 6th 2010
Published: October 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So today I went to Little India. It was amazing, it really is such a beautiful place and it felt like I was in a different country! The buildings are all different colours and, as there is currently a festival going on, the whole street was decorated with bright, colourful banners and lights. I got there and straight away started buying presents and little things, nothing huge of course because I don't want to have to leave my stuff behind due to a lack of space in my bag. So after looking through the endless stalls and shops I felt like a break, I went to a little cafe/restaraunt thing where I had some ridiculously nice samosa's! And then...on with the exploring. I went into a building where I thought they sold lots of different stuff, instead they just sold meat and fish - the smell was pretty much the worst I have ever smelt! After that wonderful discovery I went into another building...fingers crossed it wouldn't be more meat...and thank god it wasn't. It was an indoor clothes market where pretty much 99% of the stalls were selling beautiful sari's - I stayed in there for sooo long, taking pictures, looking at all the amazing hand embroidery! I also got some henna on my hand which is really pretty and they did it so quickly - literally I looked away for a minute and there was this masterpiece on my hand. Anyway after a few hours looking up and down the streets of Little India I went back to the hostel. A girl in my dorm and I then went out for dinner and to try the famous 'Singapore Sling'. We went to a place called Clarke Quay which has loads of bars, restaurants, clubs etc. We had a really nice Indian meal and then went to a bar called 'Sling' after the cocktail I assume as it was a running theme when we got in. The cocktail was presented on a tribal-type wooden stand with a piece of pineapple and an umbrella...very fancy. (Don't worry I have pictures) It was sooo nice! If you ever go to Singapore, you have to try this drink! So anyway, we then came back to the hostel, and here we are. Tomorrow my plans are to visit Chinatown - very exciting! Goodnight everyone, Anna.

Advertisement



6th October 2010

Shiny beats stinky!
Yes those foreign meat markets are something 'special' - nothing like the smell of tons of dead animals in a hot climate! Glad you found a market of shiny rather than stinky things! Sounds like a budding fashion designer's dream! You got your hand painted too? So cool, can't wait to see a photo of that! And sampling the nightlife too, I'm impressed - keep it up, look forward to reading tomorrow's... xx
7th October 2010

Wow, sounds like you've done loads of amazing things already - the zoo with the elephant ride, your close-up encounter with a kangaroo (they're sooo soft aren't they!), lions in the dark (eek!), not to mention the Singapore Slings.... hope you enjoy Chinatown. Big hug, Margaret xxx
7th October 2010

Too right - I am so glad I found a nice market after that haha! I took soooo many pictures of sari's haha - I'm sure I wasn't allowed but I pretty much took the picture and ran if they looked at me funny haha. Yeah the place we went was soo cool! there were a ridiculous amount of bars, restaraunts and clubs! Was soo nice! xx
7th October 2010

Margaret
Yeah it has been really amazing - a bit of homesickness but otherwise it is incredible! Yeah kangaroos are soo soft haha! and the singapore sling is so nice too! Chinatown was great - just about to update my blog :) big hug xxx

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb