Time flies when you are flying Singapore Airlines :-)


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Changi
February 4th 2011
Published: February 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello,
While not being yet in holiday spirits while I was in awaiting the boarding time for my flight to Singapore, the minute I boarded it all started....Up on arriving in the aircraft the magic of Singapore Airlines did it's work : it was my lucky day. The area where I was sitting was being looked after by a very cute steward. So tha twas the perfect start of this holiday. Unfortunately heavy traffic caused a delay of approx 45 minutes before we got the all clear to leave our parking position and head for take off.
The service of Singapore Airlines was excellent. Enough drinks and the food...The food was yummie ! I receive a great tip from my friends Steve & Jody that you actually can order seafood meals. So I did. The result was that I received delicious fish meals. And as it is a "special" meal it was being served before the "normal" food was being handed out. So keep this tip in mind the next time you book yourself an intercontinental flight. The inflight entertainment was great as well. So much to chose from. So here is what I chose:
- I started with a documentary about the most popular boyband of the 90s : Take That. It told the story how the band got back together. Lots of good Take That memories :-)
- Next up was one of my favorite movies : The fantastic Cate Blanchett in Elisabeth, The Golden Age.
After a nap I selected a great British comedy : Getting on with the hilarious Jo Brand. http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b00vlqyn
- Next up something more serious: An episode of BBC's Hard Talk : an interview with the chief of staff of Tony Blair. Interesting to hear about the fact that Tony Blair could not stand at all Gordon Brown.
- Enough serious stuff , next up was a typical American RomCom : "Life as we know it".

- We were still not in Singapore and so I selected some reality shows : First up was platinum weddings : Never harms to do some inspiration... http://www.wetv.com/platinum-weddings/
And than I selected "Private chefs of Beverly Hills". http://www.foodnetwork.com/private-chefs-of-beverly-hills/index.html . A really nice show in which 6 chef cooks try to furfill the special requets of Bevery Hills residents. There was for example this German guy who was throwing an engagement party for his Indian in laws and wanted to blow off their feet by having typical German dishes cooked for them... German dishes? Exactly : sausage and "Sauerkreut"... and trying to impress people from India with that? Not easy and it took some creativity of the cooks to bring it to a good end. Another challenge was this classy woman who hired the team of private chefs to cook a meal for her best friends. Only condition : NO CARBS ! Hilarious ! Typical American. But also this challenge was brought to a good end.
To Wrap up the flight entertainment and while a delicous piece of Salmon was being served as breakfast I watched The Wiggles....Sigh... http://www.thewiggles.com.au/au/home/
So after a flight of 11,5 hours which "flew" by like crazy I am in Singapore now. It is 7h05 now. In Europe it is midnight . Which means I should go sleeping or feel tired. Now the aim is that after having posted this blog I go and have some coffees . After all it is all about now staying awake all the way until I am in Brisbane. After all I am supposed to arrive around 19h40 in Brisbane. And so should be feeling tired than and not now.
Besides drinking coffees I am going to enjoy the facilities of Singapore's Changi Airport. Changi airport is absolutely impressive. So much space, light and all kinds of entertainment. Good, as I have 2,5 hours to kill before boarding my flight to Brisbane.
Yeps, I am totally in a holiday mood now. The thoughts as well that I will be seeing my friend Kevin back in a few hours gives this warm feeling. The feeling of realizing how damn lucky I am : travelling to this great country called Australia and start off the first 8 days of my trip with seeing Brisbane and starting as of Monday on a little road trip which has Sydney as final destination.
So stay tuned and I hope to be able to share with you as many updates as possible.
Joeri

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.062s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb