I Wonder...


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Changi
August 12th 2008
Published: August 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Early to be writing, I know, but I don't want to miss anything and I will definitely forget. I haven't even
gotten on the plane yet, in fact, I am still an hour off boarding. The morning was pretty bland and I think that is
why it wasn't until I was driving under the departures sign at the Tulla that I was hit like a tonne of bricks that
I am definitely leaving and even though I haven't allowed myself the priveledge, so far, that I should probably
start getting excited.

I have already made my first two mistakes, I was asked if I had any liquids on me as I passed into international
departures. I said no but I realised as I lined up in customs that I had the roll on that Mum bought me at the
last minute...and so it begins Wingnut. My other mistake was making a bee line for the departure lounges before I realised
they were business class departure lounges. Normally I would have tried my luck but I thought it would be wise not to push it
before the trip has even started.

Saying goodbye to the family was always going to be tough but had to happen. The worst thing was there was only
so many places I could wave goodbye from and I couldn't decide where the last one was going to be.

That's some more negative things for you though and I think the last post had enough of that. Even though I made
mistakes I couldn't help but laugh at myself. Sometimes it is good to be called Wingnut Braddy so that you have
an excuse!

Two other things that made me smile I found walking throught the duty free store. The first was a massive rack
of Jagermeister with a "discreet" smaller rack of 4 packs of Red Bull...I wonder. The second was as I was walking
out I realised that Missy Higgins "The Special Two" was playing over the speakers, how poetic, you just plain
can't buy luck like that for all the money in the world.

So as I sit in the economy lounge (Shutup! That is what I am calling it), sipping on what might be my last
reasonably priced VB, a mere hour from starting the adventure of a life time, I can't help but wonder
what the poor people are doing...

Advertisement



14th August 2008

(:
I'm so happy to hear about the first part of your trip - don't worry, it's never too early for us! We are all so excited to see new blogs! (: It sucks to be you for your trip over! I hated the kids on the plane over to Thailand! They were the worst, so I think we all know how you feel on that one. What happened with the roll-on deoderent? Did they end up taking it off you? Hope you are enjoying yourself and looking out for the postcards of the national icons for me! (or the teddy bear :D) Missing you. Love bella xx!
15th August 2008

Hi Zac I am so glad you have done the travel blog. Bella and I are on the computer all the time waiting for your next entry. I spoke to Ainslie this morning and we are all talking about what you are up to. We are so excited for you and so very proud. The flight over was the hard bit - I will be thinking about you starting your tour and cannot wait to hear about all the fun you have. I really miss you love mum
18th August 2008

Hey Zac! Hope it is all going excellent, cant wait to hear all about what your up too!! Miss ya mate

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb