Sing when you're winning


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Bukit Batok
May 8th 2013
Published: May 18th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Well now, what a pleasant surprise this is. In order to enter a 3rd world country, the Indian government charged us £92 for the privilege. In order to enter Singapore, we filled in a form on the plane, and got a stamp from a nice lady at the immigration desk. As they say on the TV, "simples". Due to a slightly torrential downpour we waited a while for our bags, and then embarked on one of the best and newest public transport systems in the world. <br style="font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: normal;" />We went to a Starbucks to meet up with Farrah, one of Amelia's Bristol law buddies, who we're staying with here. This was the first big smack in the face of the fact that we were back to a form of reality. We went to a bar and had pizza and beer and cocktails with Farrah and her friend, Emmy. I missed this! After, several drinks, we went out towards the jungle of Singapore, or at least as jungly as it gets in this excessively civilised island.<br style="font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: normal;" />In the morning we woke to a gorgeous view over a babbling brook, palm and banana trees, then went to explore the city. At this juncture, I would like to say that I am entirely biased in my assessment of Singapore. I love it here. There are so many rules, about littering about smoking, about loitering, it has entirely appealed to my right wing authoritarian ideals or OCD, I forget which. Everything I found wrong with India has been fixed here. If I can compare it to anywhere, it would be like Canary Wharf, but much better, shinier, and surprisingly, friendlier. Since getting here, I've been trying to figure out a way to move out here.<br style="font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: normal;" />The city is full of malls and high end shops like Prada, Gucci, Armani, all the usual suspects. I was confused as to how a city supports so many of them and then I put it all together. This city is immensely wealthy and the national past-time is shopping. I was admittedly sucked into this mentality when we stumbled across the Yamaha music shop. $5500SG nearly slipped out of my wallet and into their till, but that's another story. Exploring done, and the perils of the Yamaha shop avoided, we went to watch Iron Man 3. Epic.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0299s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb