Getting settled-ish & Exploring


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Bugis Village
January 9th 2009
Published: January 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The world renowned RaffleThe world renowned RaffleThe world renowned Raffle

Here's where I wish I was
After I landed I was faced with one huge problem...I had no where to go. I have a hostel arranged for the semester but that doesn't begin until Monday the 12th. It was Wednesday the 7th at noon (Wed the 6th 11:00pm back in Jax, Fl - topping my travel time off at 41 hours)

I found some help at the airport. I was given access to thew wireless internet and with a few helpful suggestions from my mom who had some some research, I decided on the lesser of 3 evils...The Backpacker's Cozy Corner Guesthouse. Its a very lively little place. Let's just say none of the S$17 you pay goes towards and privacy. The outdoor common area doubles as a bathroom sink area which leads to the small (luckily indoor) showers. I have a room with 2 bunk beds which are small and squeaky. (I'll try to stitch together a panorama of the room). The "air con" works fairly well but its only on at night. They are nice enough to include a free breakfast - toast and instant coffee (do your own dishes by the way). The place is a total wreck but I realized as I
BackpackerBackpackerBackpacker

And this is where I am! Notice the food and beverage nearby!
was dining with 2 Singaporeans who were enjoying joking with me about my conditions...for S$17 I have nothing to complain about!

I tried to move into my student hostel but they will not have me until NUS is ready on the 12th. Until then it will remain my base of operations. As you can see from the photo, there's food and beer within 5 feet of the entrance. The photo of the street is only about another 50 feet away. Did I mention I'm only 2 blocks from the famous Raffle's Hotel (pictures for proof!)?

Today, I did a little exploring downtown and took a few pictures. I also went to the Tiger Brewery where they make Singapore's favorite beer. I got a nice personal tour since they were not busy at all. I hope you enjoy! I can't type too much, I'm going to lose my battery as I am in McDonald's using Singapore's free wifi!


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Typical StreetTypical Street
Typical Street

I love the trees on the streets! Why do we cut all of your down?
SamsungSamsung
Samsung

Concert arena I think
Backpacker's Cozy CornerBackpacker's Cozy Corner
Backpacker's Cozy Corner

My room! Humble eh?
Hops Hops
Hops

Tiger Brewery
Tapping my own beerTapping my own beer
Tapping my own beer

"Ahh I see you have done this before..."
I was challengedI was challenged
I was challenged

"If you can chug this I will give you another one"
Random dancing in the mallRandom dancing in the mall
Random dancing in the mall

Where's the love Regency?
Local CuisineLocal Cuisine
Local Cuisine

Tons of places to eat on this street!


Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb