Chinatown and Sentosa


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Chinatown
January 10th 2009
Published: January 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Chinatown


With school still 2 days away, I woke up on Saturday with nothing to do. I decided to catch the MRT train down to Chinatown since it was nearby. I walked around for a while checking out the various vendors and tailors. I desperately needed a new wallet so I was able to find one there for cheap which was nice. I began to realize that I had no other use for Chinatown. I didn't want to buy any cheap Chinese candy (which was never more than 50 feet away at any time). I wasn't looking for Chinese New Year decorations, I wasn't buying a suit, and I wasn't interested in eating chicken feet at the moment. I was thoroughly unimpressed. On the bright side, once you've seen 1 Chinatown I hear you've seen them all, so I never have to go to another one again!

Sentosa


I had called a fellow GT student to ask about some school business and found out they were very nearby on the island of Sentosa. Sentosa is Singapore's beachy tourist area. For S$3 I got on a bus across and met up with about 10 others. After a few overpriced Tigers we went an sat on the obviously man-made beach. It was a great view of the harbour, at least. We could probably see about 30 tankers awaiting loading/unloading. Other than it being very cheap, Sentosa was also a bit of a let down. More adventures await though!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Lunch time!Lunch time!
Lunch time!

Vietnamese spicy beef noodles and deep fried fish balls! (I don't wanna know either) Tiga Bea! (Tiger Beer)


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb