Singapore- My new home!!!!!well I' like it to be!!


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Bugis Village
April 30th 2008
Published: April 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Have been in Oz now for 2 days which means Ive done my four nights in Singapore and I have to tell you I LOVED IT!! What a place?! I honestly want to live and work there for a while in my late 20s. Its got everything I loved about London aka the fashion (I went to Topshop, Warehouse, FCUK, Miss Selfridge- all of which were ridiculously expensive and over double what youd pay in UK. Aka 20pound strap tops), the cleanliness, the great public transport system- called the MBT, the food, the nightspots (went to a bar called the clinic in Clarke Quay where you sit in wheelchairs and have your cocktails given to you in IV drips and syringes!!! although blow me it is sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo expensive. There were 4 of us- myself, Kate and Beth who I did my intrepid trip with and have also met up with in Ko Tao and stuff and a boy called alex and we paid 25dollars each which is 12.50 and that was basically for 2 drinks!!) a pint is 8 english pounds!!!! Its also so cultural with little india and china and also the people are so friendly. two seconds with a map in your hand looking slightly puzzled and they are there trying to help you and direct you! sweet.

There was just something about the place that made me love it! Although you need serious dollar dollar bill to live there so it has made me 100000000 percent determined to get a phenom job when I get back.

In my time there I went to the zoo which was amazing as I stroked a Kangaroo, fed a polar bear, saw lions and tigers and giraffes and rhinos! everything! it was so cool and a great day out. I also went to Sentosa Island which is entirely man made and like a theme pak attatched to Singapore. that was cool to. My time here was very touristy- and I shopped hard although with little success mainly due to the fact that the best clothes were the ones at the far eastern plaza- as in real high fashion but cheap singaporean style. And they insist on everything being one size fits all and let me tell you 1 size does not fit all!!! they literally pushed me into some dress which barely covered 1 nipple!! There stuff is made for flat chested people not girls with boobs! and then to make my frustration worse I loved a pair of shoes but they were only sold in size 5+!! so not only are the clothes to small but all the shoes are to big!! grrrrrrrr!hehe (brought some handbags though!!) Everything is expensive so dinner would normally consist of me being the only western person in a food hall! ate some crazy stuff but it was all cheap so had to be done!

Left really sad and this was not helped by the obnoxious prat at Ozzie customs who grilled me for over an hour before letting me into the country!! Talk about not what you need at 8 in the morning after a 9 hour flight! he was obsessed with the fact that I was travelling alone and that Id come from Thailand and insisted on seeing every last thing id brought from thai! i dont think the 10 knock off dvds helped!!hehe. he kept asking if id done any naroctics at the full moon and when i said i dont do drugs he just stared at me like a fool!!! i was so nervous though as he was really grilling me and when he decided he could go and was like "have a flaming good time down under" i was very close to telling him where to go! ( (i later found out the aussies do this a lot to solo travellers so boo to them!)

am now at gilligans in cairns which is the most impressive hostel ever!! got a pool and big bed and air con! sharing with 8 people who chnage everyday but have met a cool irish and swedish guy and a girl called sarah and weve just booked our whitsundays together!

am diving on the great barrier reef tomoz! i am sooo excited but slightly scared as in my 2 nights here so far ive met so many people who missed their trips as you have to get up at 6.30 and goon (which is vile cheap wine) flows aplenty here!! so im avoiding all drinks to ensure i wake up!! not drinking wine for 6 weeks then on my first night here being greeted with pay 10 dollars drink for an hour (cheap champagne!!) was not my best idea and my head was in ruins all day yesterday!!

am sleepy so off for a nap! the weather isnt very good today, infact its prob my worst day so far so just doing nothing! oz is ludicrously expensive (asin I paid 10 dollars for a sandwich! thats 5 pound!!!!!!i tried to retract my order but theyd made it so i begrudingly paid!!grr) so have to cook ourselves! boo. met a girl i was friends with on my secret facebook group in a club last night! such a small world ! was like meeting a long lost sister!haha.

love to you all. Love me
xxx






Advertisement



30th April 2008

Stephy!!!!!!!!!!!! The great barrier reef is immense, so hope u got up in time and enjoyed, its so beautiful!!!! U gota go2 the Woolshed in Cairns2- that was the place2 b wen we went 4yrs ago!!! Whitsundays is amazin, at Airlie Beach we stayed at the Koala resort which is at the top end, they av lil huts and like 4/5 2a room, quite nice n cheap...u wait till u c the beach@whitsundays, its out of this world!! Lovin ur travel blogs, entertains me at work! Take care and loadsa love xxxxxxx

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb