meeting relatives


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines
May 26th 2007
Published: November 30th -0001
Edit Blog Post

Apple and I were invited to the very welcoming Cruz family residence in Jaen, Nueva Ecija. We arrived a little late after the traditional jeepney ride and had a lovely family meal.

The family showed me their car that had very recently been riddled with bullets as part of the election campaign. This was a real shock to me, and it further emphasised my views that gun accessibility is a problem.

We then watched a memorial to a recently deceased relative on tv that I found a little upsetting but it was clear that everyone was celebrating his life and his time on earth.

We then had a few San Miguels & baso na may yello (glass with ice) and chatted with the family. I was then coerced into finally succumbing to eating a balut. For those who don't know a balut is is a fertilised duck egg with a nearly-developed embryo inside that is boiled and eaten in the shell. They are considered delicacies of Asia and especially the Philippines, Cambodia, and Vietnam.

Having been to the Philippines many times and never tried one I knew I had to give it a go. Time to fulfill
BaluuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuutBaluuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuutBaluuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuut

keep an open mind.....
my destiny. I have to say that the thought of what it actually is makes it so much harder to eat and swallow, but it was ok. It is definitiely an acquired taste, but I would much rather eat a balut than a cheesebuger....



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb