Tubbataha, world marine heritage site


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Palawan » Puerto Princesa
May 30th 2008
Published: May 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post



Plans are made to be changed....I was originally going to be partying and playing golf this week around the Baltic
Sea....but hey, can you explain to me what I would have done on my own in bars in Tallin or Vilnius, now that I've
got a gorgeous new girlfriend...right...I'm sure you understand.

So no Baltic Sea...and Welcome to the Sulu Sea, welcome to Tubbataha. First let me thank my friend Karim who gave me
the tip about this place...great tip Karim...I'll be back and you should book your next trip!

But if after reading this...you feel, let's jump on a plane to Manila...well, be patient, the season is off in
less than 2 weeks...Tubbataha Reef is only open 3 to 4 months a year due to rough seas.

So now you are all asking...where the hell is Tubbataha...what is it? It's easy....fly to Puerto Princessa, capital
of Palawan...jump on a boat and hit South-East, direction Mindanao...after 11 hours ride on the boat...stop...in the
middle of nowhere...you've reach divers paradise...my home away from the world for few days. The place is actually 2
atolls, with 2 little islands, 2 wrecks above water, and a ranger station...and obviously...amazing colors and water! It
is also the only World Marine Heritage Site in all South East Asia, so forget about Phi Phi or Bali!

I was staying on the Borneo Explorer, with 15 other divers...most of them from Manila, living in Manila, or connected
somehow to Manila...think they try to keep the paradise for themselves! And if you are wondering, I did check, seems
this is the first ever blog written on travelblog about Tubbataha. The boat is kind of basic...not really your Four
Seasons explorer type, but I had a nice single cabin...and great new friends for few days...the only thing to complain,
well, food was less than average...but you know I'm a foodie!

The stats...the program was for 18 dives in 4 days...we did 19 (well, only very few of us)...best Corals I ever saw...
and many many more things....but for this, just look at the pictures. They say this is nearly as good as Palau...and I
confirm, I did both! Oh, and if you didn't do it yet, go back to my Galapagos page, and click on the video....speaking about
hammerhead sharks...this video is becoming VERY popular!
.

I also did enjoy my first encounter with a whale shark...in a very odd place...21 meters down, 5 minutes in our 18th
dive...rushing past a wall...amazing...amazing...amazing...but you can guess that. The best part, he nearly hit Paul our
dive master...whonearly didn't see him as he was looking the at the wall....imagine!

So now I'm back to reality...but not for long...next entry is coming soon, very soon, from another great place.

And if you wonder, yes I realise how lucky I am...in love, great family, great friends...I wouldn't change anything
in life today (well, you all know Tiffany would be better in Shanghai...)! Life is great, love even better...keep
smiling, because I do...and keep diving!


Think about it...February in Galapagos, this week in Tubbataha, next week...easy to guess, I only hit at the best!


Additional photos below
Photos: 48, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



31st May 2008

Great pictures...
Whoa...whale shark! Nice. Amazing.
1st June 2008

Leaf Scorpionfish
Quite rare indeed...hmmm...I wonder who found it? Could it have been that guy next to the Whale Shark? Me thinks so.... Great meeting you mate. Hope you're diving in Palua is living up to expectations...I've finally arrived in Boracay after some airline problems....beautiful White Sand Beach in front of me while I type...heading there now...was showing the staff here the photo's you took of our new best friend, Wilma the Whale Shark!!!
13th June 2008

Butanding
Back at work for a week or so now, and keep looking back at your site. You travel like a Grand Master. Have printed your photos of the Whale Shark and put them up in the office. Many people have enjoyed looking at them - and you always get the credit! ;-) I've replayed seeing that wonderful fish hundreds of times, and intend to do so thousands more!! Glad we were all lucky enough to experience that, and its wonderful that you have these photos! Keep in touch...

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb