The Evil Jellyfish!!!


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Cebu » Moalboal
January 20th 2009
Published: January 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Dear all,
So we had been on Boracay for five days and we had walked/run 41miles up and down the famous White Beach...it was safe to say that we had seen the beach and that it was time to move on! We had also been lucky enough to join in with the Ati Atihan celebrations, although I still don't fully know what we were celebrating! We packed up our bags and 1 tricycle, 1 boat, 2 buses, 2 taxies, 1 plane and a truck later we arrived in Moalboal on Cebu.
We checked into the room that I had booked only to find that it was about the size of a broom cupboard and that the free in room WIFI didn't actually exist!! But on the plus side it was clean and there were no bugs to be seen!

Moalboal is a small place and it is famous for one thing....thats diving! One of the main attractions is that there are some Whalesharks that live around the area and if you are lucky then you might get to see one when you are diving. Our first dive was really good but no Whaleshark! On our second dive I got up
TurtleTurtleTurtle

Still my favourite!!
close and personal with a jellyfish, it swam right across both of my hands and left a bit of its long thin leg thing on my hand. I have never managed to set my hands on fire but if I did then I think it might feel a bit like that! Thankfully Dan took hold of me as I was floating off into the deep blue! We did our safety stop and got out and then did the horrible first aid bit which is vinegar and urine. Its supposed to kill any of the sting that it left.

The boat came back to shore and just as we got out of the boat we heard that there was a Whaleshark swimming about 200 metres out. So I grabbed my mask and swam out ( yes my hands did hurt but this was a whaleshark!!!) but it had gone!

Since then we have done a few more dives but no whaleshark yet. I now keep a close eye out for Jellyfish! There were loads of them around today. The weather here in the Philippines is improving and today we actually sat in the sun for a bit. The plan is to stay here for a few more days and then head up to Malapascua Island where there is a good chance we might see thresher sharks. Thats the problem with these sea creatures that swim around for miles...you never know where they are or when you might see them. But looking for them is still fun!

Love to you all and stay in touch,
Wendy
xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0321s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb