Half Way Through.....The Six Month Mark!!!


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Cebu » Moalboal
January 22nd 2009
Published: January 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Dear all,
Can you believe it...we are now half way through our trip! We have spent the past six months travelling through Asia...Thailand, Singapore, Indonesia and the Philippines. I love Asia and I am glad that we spent a good chunk of time here but I am now ready to move on. Also these are all countries that I have been lucky enough to visit before but in the next segment of travelling I am visiting plenty of new places. In about ten days we are heading to Palau in Micronesia and I am very excited about that! I think that things are going to get even more different and exotic!

For anyone who hasn't been lucky enough to travel or is thinking about it..it really is an individual experience and it is hard to sum up. Yes I am very lucky because apart from the odd bit of diving work, I am having a year off of work. I have also made some amazing friends who will be friends for life.

So far my favourite country has been Indonesia...and Dans too. The people there are the friendliest by far. The food is not as nice as Thai food but when you see the amazing scenery you don't care about that! Its just an amazing country and there is so much to see...we could travel for another five years and never see it all!

I seem to have used the word "lucky" quite a bit so far....so now I will talk about the hard bits of travelling. Believe it or not there are quite a few! Being away from my friends and family for a year is the hardest thing. With another six months to go before I get to see them, its tough! Then there is food...and this is a big thing!! There is only so much rice and noodles that you can take. I tend to crave things that I know I cant have like chunky white bread and roast chicken with all of the trimmings. Lastly there is the fact that you have to wear the same clothes, live out of a bag and sleep in a different bed every few nights!

Is it worth it? Yes!! Its an adventure. Most days its an amazing adventure then there is the rare day when it all gets me down. I don't know if I will ever be able to do this again, so I am making the most of it. I will certainly have some stories to 'bore the pants' off of people with for the next few years!!! Also hours worth of photos to show you all!!

Anyway, still in Moalboal. Drying off our dive kit and then moving on. Take care all of you and look forward to seeing you in six months. If it goes as fast as the past six months then it won't be long at all!!!!

Wendy
xxxxxxxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0249s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb