Visiting my lovely Friends in Naudana or The Unwelcome Visitors!


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Pokhara
August 24th 2010
Published: August 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post




I went to see a friend in Naudana,
A beautiful place to be sure.
But when I arrived at the village,
What I got was a little bit more.

It was rainy season on the ridge,
Falling from day until night.
There were snow capped mountains above us,
But the clouds kept them hidden from sight.

We had fun playing cards in Naudana,
But I frequently felt in a daze,
I never quite knew what I was doing,
Maybe it was the pot filled haze!

They have a rustic bathroom at Naudana,
It also has a splendid view.
It’s a bit damp with lots of mosquitoes,
And naturally has a squat loo.

I was using the loo early one morning,
When I spotted something I fear.
There near where I was squatting,
A huge arachnid, far too near.

They sure make them big in Naudana,
This monster was Attila the Hun.
As soon as I got myself decent,
I shot out of that place like a gun.

This was the king of Naudana,
About as big as my hand.
Shiny and black with huge legs,
On my legs I could hardly stand.

My protector went into the toilet,
Armed with a short handled broom,
I thought he was going to remove it,
But alas, it’s life ended too soon.

Now Buddhists have this belief,
To kill sentient beings is wrong,
So now I have some bad karma,
It came back and it didn’t take long.

That night getting ready for bed,
Fra looked at the wall and said, “There”!
I followed her gaze right behind me,
Attila’s wife on the wall by my chair.

It was late at night, dark and raining,
To my dear hosts I tried to tell,
That the very first thing in the morning,
I’d be moving into a hotel.

We slept upstairs with the guys,
My heart beat kept up a fast pace.
While sharing a single mattress with Fra,
I kept imaging it covering my face.

The next morning dawned rainy as usual,
I packed with amazing speed.
I was soon at the chowk for a taxi,
And Fra followed my lead.

I was sorry to be leaving Naudana,
I don’t mind sharing a room with Fra,
But sharing my bed with a spider?
That’s taking Buddhism a little too far.

We Buddhist say “May you be happy”,
To things that we don’t like to see,
And I too agree with this thought,
But be happy nowhere near me.

I am now in a hotel in Pokora,
And there isn’t a spider in sight.
I am hoping that the spirit of Attila,
Doesn’t come here to visit in the night.

No photos of the huge scary ones for obvious reasons!!!!!!!!!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



24th August 2010

poetry
I loved the poem Buffy and I sympathise with your araqchnid problems. I really don’t know whether I ought to Have had that glass of iced rain water Near my bed on Friday night. It was by the light of the radio’s LED That I reached out, and I could see the sillhouette of the glass’s shape. My throat was dry from the heat and dust and I felt that I must releive this horrible cough of which I’d simply had enough. So by the light of the LED I reached out quite sleepily and felt the glass’s cool rounded shape and silently to my lips I take, a sip of icy water. To my complete disbelief I felt against my upper teeth Something soft and furry with unpleasant taste I spat it out in indecent haste. But failure occurred in this event, though yes, it was my firm intent. I gasped and inhaled the body of a wayward moth attracted by the seductive glow of my Philips bedside radio. So in the kitchen at 3 am I am sleepily writing this poem describing then my thoughts on moths flying and swimming ability, and proposing in poetical nocturnal stupidity, “That lepidoptera who by light are attracted, should cease this suicidal habit. Or be at least fitted with miniature life preservers and fly supervised by trained RAAF observers.” It’s true that I cannot verify the identity of this night butterfly, I had little time to count its legs but six I felt. A mistake I could have made, maybe by two, Oh Hell ! Evidence of this drowned night creature has vanished without revealing feature. The ease of my stomach and calmer inside now But consternation if it really was a huntsman spider ! G Cartridge ()

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0601s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb