THANK YOU NAIRNE PRIMARY SCHOOL


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
September 14th 2010
Published: September 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

THANK YOU NAIRNE, for all the wonderful books.THANK YOU NAIRNE, for all the wonderful books.THANK YOU NAIRNE, for all the wonderful books.

Not quite enough for one book each but they are really good at sharing.
Before I left on my trip this year I visited my most favourite school where I have worked for many years, Nairne Primary in the Adelaide hills.

Leanne and Rob’s class, two great teachers and friends also, had made a funny book which they then sold to children and parents and made a profit of $130.

They very kindly presented it to me to give to a school or orphanage in need that I may have found on my travels.

Well as you can imagine, there are so many places in need that it is not an easy job. I also had to consider whether the school would use the money correctly.
Luckily I knew of just such a school in Nepal. Bibhuti International School - called international purely because English is taught, just so important for their future.

I support two lovely children who go to this school, Sushmita and Rajan. If you have been following my blog you will know that they all met me when I arrived at the airport.

The school they go to is doing an amazing job of teaching their students with little to no resources and no electricity in any of the classrooms. The children are bright and inquisitive and eager to learn - but, not a book to be seen anywhere and this was more than a former librarian like me could bear.

So the principal, Sumitra and I set off on her motorbike to a wonderful book store I know of in Patan. There we had great fun choosing $130 worth of books. It’s amazing how many we could buy, three big bags full!

Once they were covered and stamped we had a staff training session where I gave them ideas on how to use the books in the classroom. We had a great time and the staff really got into it.

It’s been lovely popping into the school now and then and seeing them being used. I think the staff enjoys them as much as the students.

So a big thank you for raising the money to brighten a poor school in Kathmandu. They are so very thankful and happy. And anything else you or others can do……………



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

The staff room with no electricity.The staff room with no electricity.
The staff room with no electricity.

And how about the staff uniforms, beautiful soft pink saris. An idea for Nairne?


20th September 2010

Coincidence
I too have just returned from a visit to Kathmandu. I know of the existence of a school with this name because of someone I met there who said their child was at that school. I didn't however get any address and spelling right. I would like to help but do not know how to get into contact with the Principal to confirm I have the right place. I wonder if you could give me an address?
22nd September 2010

School address
I am now in India but can try to get the address for you. Do you intend to write to them? The principal is lovely but there is no email, in fact only her office has electricity! Whenever I send money I do it via Western Union through Raju, the father of the two children I support. I trust him implicitly. Let me know what else I can do, I would love you and others to help them.

Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0715s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb