Pokhara City--"adventure central" in Nepal


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Pokhara
April 7th 2007
Published: April 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Pokhara City is probably unlike any other city in Nepal. The area around Pokhara is the place where many trekkers from the United States and other countries begin their Himalayan adventures. There are at least four rivers and a lake nearby that attract rafters and kayakers. To cater to the many western tourists that come there, Pokhara is filled with hip restaurants and bars, expedition outfitters, bookstores, CD stores, camera stores, money exchange places, etc.

We stayed in Pokahra City for a very short time, really spending just enough time to see it and find an ATM for some of the people in our group who were running out of money. Pokhara City was ONLY place we visited in India or Nepal where I found AA lithium batteries for my digital camera -- and even there, only one camera shop seemed to carry them. Getting AA alkaline batteries was no problem anywhere. Vendors hang around tourists sites hawking them, sometimes even claiming that they are better than lithium batteries. But the AA alkaline batteries lasted less than a day in my camera, whereas the AA ithium batteries lasted three or four days! So while we were in Pokhara, I stocked up on lithium batteries to hold me for the rest of the trip. I didn't have quite enough money to pay, and the store owner very kindly told me that I could just pay him what I had. I gave him an "I Love New York" keychain just to thank him. He and his wife seemed quite pleased to have it, or maybe just pleased that I gave them something extra to thank them.

Advertisement



11th June 2010

about pokhara
hi, i m sneha. i like pokhara most but now a days pokhara city is very poluted. Tourist among the world is visited here. But the condition of pokhara is becoming very poluted unhopely. All the citizens must conseder about pokhara and all about the nepal.
8th March 2011

Visite Pokhra....
The pokhra_ Kathmandu in nepal the perfact place for tour...specially in summers......The area around the pokhra are increadeblu famous for trakkers from many country.. Here the long is not enough for this trip... Have tour here ......... Your tour guid ABHISHEK AND ABHINAV-

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0605s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb