Blowing Smoke.....


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamel
March 6th 2008
Published: March 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So I decided to travel to Nepal for a few days before going to Bangkok. I was kind of glad to get out out Delhi as cool as it was. I arrived to my hotel in the afternoon, booked a guided tour and went for a walk in Thamel (the tourist district). There are countless shops, bars, internet/phone cafes to walk by and the overall feel is very relaxed especialy compared to Delhi. In the morning on March 6th, I met my guide and driver and we took off for the monkey temple. It was very impressive with many hindu and budhist temples and of course monkeys all over the place. We then went to Durbar Square to do some more tours through temples and holy sights. We then went to Pashupatinath Temple, a hindu pilgramage site. Fortunately for me, it was the Maha Shivaratri celebration in which 400,000 people flock to the site to honor the God Shiva. Shiva means 'Shakti' or 'Strength', he is the destroyer and the most powerful and feared god of the Hindu religion. He is also the God of marijuana so many people are smoking, especially the holy men (some of whom are completely naked) and you can buy from them as well without prosecution ONLY during this festival. This was by far the craziest thing I have seen so far. After partaking in some "holy worship smoking" we traveled to Boudhanath a Budhist Stupa. This turned out to be the 4th World Heritage Sight I would see today!!!!!
The sights here are amazing and the people are fantastic. I bought a flight to Mount Everest today as well so will be getting up at 5am tommorrow for a flight around the peak. I can't wait. I will be staying until March 9th and flying back to Delhi, then to Calcutta and to Bangkok arriving on March 10th.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

StashStash
Stash

One of hundreds of stashs brought by Holy Men praising Shiva and getting a little light headed.
Holy ManHoly Man
Holy Man

One of the hundreds of Holy Men who travel from all over, especially India, to partake in the festival.
Budhist StupaBudhist Stupa
Budhist Stupa

One of the largest Stupas in the world


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0631s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb