Everest and Bhaktapur


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Himalayas
March 8th 2008
Published: March 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Everest PlaneEverest PlaneEverest Plane

The smallest plane I have EVER been in!
I am sooooo glad I came to Nepal. It is beautiful, fun, relaxed, exactly how I like my destinations. I was very excited for the Everest trip. I can't believe I was debating not going because it would cost $160?????????? Whats wrong with me????? I'm in Nepal and it's EVEREST!!!!! Anyways, I was at the airport at 630am for my 7am flight. When I got to the airport, I found out the plane was overbooked. Fortunately many others were overbooked so they chartered another plane. The bad news though is that it was super foggy out. After waiting in the airport for 3 hours, I found out my flight was cancelled. As I waited for my hotel driver to come pick me up some airline guys rushed into the office and started yelling at me. I managed to figure out they were telling me there was 1 spot left on another plane and its leaving NOW. I rushed to the plane, an 18 seater, and was off. The hour flight was amazing. I was able to take lots of pics, even from the cockpit. Definately worth the price and I now know Nepal would not have been complete without that flight.
EverestEverestEverest

The peak on the left, very nice.
The rest of the day I walked around the markets. Its almost sickening how cheap everything here is. I almost feel guilty buying things AND bartering for them. I bought a sweet wool jacket for a measly $15.

The next day I had scheduled another driver to take me into the hills and country to Bhaktapur. It was cool seeing everyday life in the "city" and of course more pagodas and stupas.

So far, Nepal has been my favorite place. It is now the eve of my bday and I'm not really looking forward to it. Not only will I be alone, but the travel agent screwed me in Delhi. Instead of booking a 3 hours flight from Kathmandu to Bangkok, he booked me a 1 1/2 hour flight to Delhi, a 2 hour flight to Kalkuta and a 2 hour flight to Bangkok. I wasn't really looking foward to spending my whole bday in the airport but I shouldn't complain. I am healthy and still have my credit card!!!! I do miss Meghan alot though and can't wait to get home. As amazing as this experience is and as glad as I am that I am doing
EverestEverestEverest

Me looking out to Everest from the plane.
this, its not complete without her here. Anyways off to sleep for the long bday at the airport.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



11th March 2008

that can't be the smallest plane you've ever been in, I thought you've flown a little Cessna before? That plane looks a lot like the one I take to Points North all the time, looks like you didn't have to go all the way to Nepal to get on one. Sucker!!! Oh, the new geologist that just started with Cameco is from Nepal. Weird...
15th March 2008

True
I was thinking more of a passenger plane, not so much like the Cessna.
26th March 2008

Small plane
Mike, that plane probably flies similar to your cessna did. You should have asked the pilot to take the controls! Then you could show off!
26th March 2008

That would have been sick......
if they would have let me fly that thing. Although it was super long ago and I don't have a license anymore so doubt that would have happened.
28th March 2008

Man you should get your liscence renewed then we could rent a plane and you could take me and Andy for a ride!
1st April 2008

Sure
if you want to pay for it AND if you can find me a plane that would fit you guys, unless you want to take turns. Sheesh, its not as easy as it sounds.

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb