Am I done flying yet?????


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
March 15th 2008
Published: March 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: This is amazing 7 secs
Khoa San RoadKhoa San RoadKhoa San Road

This is where most of the backpakers come to stay.
So my last blog had me in Nepal which seems like forever ago already. I flew out of Nepal on my birthday, March 9th, and was heading to Bangkok. Unfortunately the travel guy I booked my ticket through really messed up my flights. Instead of a 3 hour flight from Kathmandu to Bangkok, he had me fly to Delhi, Kalkuta then Bangkok. I was at the Nepal airport at 7 am March 9th and arrived in Bangkok at 6 am March 10th. I would have to say that was the WORST birthday ever!!!!

Stepping of the plane at 6 am I didn't expect the kind of humidity that hit me. It was just as bad, if not worse, than getting of the plane in Goa at 3 in the afternoon. I managed to get to my hotel after being ripped off by some driver, I'm such a tourist. The guest house seems great but after being up for 25 hours it was time for some R&R.

At the guest house, I had met 3 people from Saskatoon on my second day and a guy from Calgary as well. Small world!!! Since being here, I've just walked around to the various markets, checked out Khoa San Road, Patpong, Grand Palace, Crazy mall with Lamborghini/Maseratti, Porsche dealerships inside along with all the top name store (Armani, Versace etc.) I think I was a little out of my league. I did happen to see the Kings daughter, apparently she was coming to the mall to do a little shopping, guess its more in her price range. I did take a quick picture before I was swarmed by security hahah. I also went to the aquarium that was in the basement of the mall, very nice (largest aquarium in South East Asia).

Yesterday I walked around and ran into some guys playing Takraw. Its like volleyball but you can only use your head, body and feet to hit the little ball. It was quite amazing to see. I took a few videos too so I will try to post one.

Today I plan to head to the weekend market and do some shopping. Overall, Bangkok has been great. The city is clean, the people are friendly and the food is AMAZING as expected. I am flying to Laos on Monday and then will be going to Beijing for the final stop on my trip. It has been a blast to see all these places but I'm ready to come home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Grand PalaceGrand Palace
Grand Palace

There was a memorial for the Kings sister who had just passed away so some of the areas were closed like the area behind me.
Look at that things teeth!!!Look at that things teeth!!!
Look at that things teeth!!!

ooooohohohohoh....ooooooohohohohohoho.....OOOOOOHOHOHOHOHO
TakrawTakraw
Takraw

Lining up for a spike, I could probably do that
WinnerWinner
Winner

Counting up his moolah
What upppppp!!!!What upppppp!!!!
What upppppp!!!!

That's me, without the T


Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0205s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb