And halfway down the deathroad


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Chitwan
August 13th 2013
Published: August 28th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Angel fallsAngel fallsAngel falls

I think it's called Angel falls. Huge. just huge. I couldn't fit the whole thing into a photo. So powerful. It was so hot walking up to it after riding on hot motorbikes where you are gripping for your life. The waterfall gave off a wonderful cool mist.
A couple guys from the church took Mollika and me to see the waterfall. So we rode on motorbikes back on the road where people fall off. I am not a toucher as you may know...so I spent the ride trying really hard not to touch the guy-also it was crazy hot. The road is bumpy and we would quickly speed up and slow down as we encountered cars. We got stuck in the mud once but I never fell off even though I held onto the back of the bike instead of the guy. yessss.

It was a hot ride and walk but the waterfall was beautiful. The others had to return but my driver friend took me to see the temple where all the orange people go. I think. I should have taken more pictures. The month-long holiday means that every monday some people dress in all of the brightest orange ever and don't wear shoes and then go and bathe in a special place in the river.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

IMG_4842IMG_4842
IMG_4842

Don't mind the hair, I was literally covered in dirt from the ride. Three black wet wipes later...
IMG_4853IMG_4853
IMG_4853

It flowed down and down so so strong, our very excited friend climbed past the danger sign and we were so scared as he disappeared over the little hill.
IMG_4857IMG_4857
IMG_4857

So hot, and the rocks are really loose
IMG_4860IMG_4860
IMG_4860

In honor of the holiday.
IMG_4869IMG_4869
IMG_4869

This bridge bounces so badly and the "railing" is like a foot out on the sides.
IMG_4884IMG_4884
IMG_4884

Sita's cave. Behind me is a very sacred part of this temple. This is a major temple. There was a large group from India who came just for this temple. This is where people were going for the holiday. Decked out head to ankle in orange and barefoot. Every monday. Then they travel out to this river to bathe. Also I think they get high a lot because this celebrated god apparently did marijuana. Don't get your facts from the foreigner, I don't know anything.
IMG_4890IMG_4890
IMG_4890

The place where people believe mother earth opened up to receive Sita because she didn't want to go to hea ven. Something like that.
IMG_4894IMG_4894
IMG_4894

So over having my picture taken. It was a long day


Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb