Farewell my lovely Nepal


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
August 16th 2013
Published: August 28th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Driving back to Kathmandu and flying out to Kunming



I got an hour to walk in Thamel (downtown Kathmandu) before catching the car to the airport so I walked and did a little shopping. Sorry people, no gifts this time. All the flights were delayed at Kathmandu. I was a miserable person this day. I am such a brat sometimes. Generally speaking, the Chinese people were very very loud and I had a headache and decided to be cranky. It was a bad combination...someday I will return. I rely a lot on that : )


Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Construction-struction what's your functionConstruction-struction what's your function
Construction-struction what's your function

The initial part of our 5 hour journey back to Kathmandu went strangely fast. I started thinking maybe my trip to Nepal is big because I am going to die here, on this bus, happy at the end of my trip. Obviously we survived and I credit that to the request to father to keep us safe which came in the form of pavement being installed in one lane of the road for a very long distance. We were forced to slow down.
My front row seatMy front row seat
My front row seat

This is me looking left from my bench behind the driver's seat. When we were moving, the bus assistant guy sat on that bench signalling by whistles to the driver or to other cars...i did not end up breaking their code.
6 hours in6 hours in
6 hours in

We would scoot up 1 or 2 car lengths and then stop for 5 or 10 minutes and everybody would impatiently climb off and then scramble to jump back on when we scooted up again. This lasted a couple hours or so. It was hot, very hot
Smart peopleSmart people
Smart people

The locals were smart enough to go by the car windows selling cucumber and chips. Do you see the car line across the way? The red color is a big truck.
VillagersVillagers
Villagers

Sometimes there is about 7 feet between the drop off and the edge of the road so people have houses, hotels, and shops all along those spaces


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb