Village life


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Chitwan
April 18th 2009
Published: April 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well I made it safely to my village and what a change in lifestyle! Its amazing, peace and quiet. The village is lovely, we're surrounded by fields, goats, cows, buffalos, chickens, dogs and pigeons (honestly) and its a very laid back, simple way of living. It is incredibly hot here (I would like to point out I am drinking lots, wearing a hat and suncream!), mainly in the afternoon but its not too bad if you stay in the shade! lack of electricity is far more noticable here as the fans are very welcome when they're on and there's nothing to do in the evening with no lights! It means most people get up before the sun comes up which is the nicest part of the day. Watching the sun set over the fields from the roof of the house is amazing as well.

Everyone in the village is lovely, the kids are incredibly cute and love having their photo taken, they kidnapped me and my camera the other day and took around 60 photos of themselves!

I'm also having to get used to eating dahl bhat twice a day. My host mom is lovely but keeps trying to give me more and more food each time. In an evening its not too bad but at 10am in the morning its not that much fun trying to eat it! and she makes incredibly sweet black tea several times a day

Today I spent a lazy day by the river sitting reading my book, its such a nice place to be! Next weekend we're off on an elephant safari hopefully!

Life at the health post is an eye opener, it is essentially a GP surgery but don't have a huge amount of equipment (literally just a BP cuff and thermometer) and the doctor is only allowed to prescribe a limited amount of drugs (around 30) for free to people. this has only happened in the last year, so its good but means people are being treated with drugs they don't necessarily need or aren't the most appropriate. Its like desert island drugs in real life for those of you who know what I mean! Anyway, will explain more about that when I get back or else I'll just bore you! speak soon

Advertisement



18th April 2009

update
Good to hear from you. I can't believe you have been there over a week already. Did you try and phone today around 10.15 our time? Obviously I was out and Dad and Scott have gone away with cadets this weekend. Sorry to miss talking to you, but glad to receive your blog updates. The weather this week has not been good, cold and rainy most days with some sunny periods. Anyway, glad to hear from you and keep in touch when you can. Love Mom, Dad and Scott

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb