a million steps up and no snow


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Annapurna
April 15th 2008
Published: December 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

winkey donkeyswinkey donkeyswinkey donkeys

here are the donkeys that jade and i never got to ride on
Oh god trekking again! So anyway since the snow capped mountains were miles away from Pokhara I talked jade into coming on a 4 day trek which is part of the Annapurna circuit to Poon hill. Now on the posters and postcards the views are stunning of the Annapurna range and the mountains are right in front of you. Our quest was to see the snow!!!! After researching the trek we discovered you could ride a pony there of ride one some of the way.......true kind of if you have 100 us dollars to spare for one day!!!! so we walked all the way, to be honest I don’t actually think a pony could take you all the way up the mountains as its really 2 and a half days solid uphill step after step mountain after mountain for 3800 meters.

Naturally jade complained the majority of the way. I actually surprised myself and battled up without too much wining! To be honest with you I just wanted to get it over and done with!
The views were stunning, however there wasn’t any snow. On the 3rd day we got up before sunrise and climbed the 40 minute killer uphill hike to see the sun rise over the mountains, the clouds did part for a while and we took pictures (however you really can’t see any mountains on them) which is quite funny really looking back the fact that I tortured my body for 4 days.

My favourite part of the trip I think was riding on the roof of the bus on the way home for 2 hours, so much fun singing max and paddy’s road to nowhere. When I got back I was feeling ally crippled like and 80 year old granny, I was walking like a pensioner for about 3 days after!



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

ridin on top of the bus yeah!ridin on top of the bus yeah!
ridin on top of the bus yeah!

riding on the top of the bus back from out anerpunda treck was the best fun ever!


Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0564s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb