hiding in a tree whilst being charged at by wild rhinos..interesting!!


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Chitwan
April 16th 2008
Published: December 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well what an experience!!! We took 2 guides and went walking through the Chitwan national park, the advice when we got off the canoe and into the scrub land was this.....

"If a rhino charges at you run in a zig zag and try find a tree to hide behind"

"If you see a tiger which is rare (but one killed 3 cows nearby the other day) don’t run, face the tiger and don’t look away"

"If you see a bear there’s no point climbing a tree they can climb too stand back to back to each other"

"Walk flat footed as there are many poisonous snakes and if one bites you then it can be a problem"

ok ....so I’m basically walking through the jungle and scrub shitting myself that a tiger is going to leap out at me , a rhinos is going to trample me and I might accidentally stand on a snake and die a horrible painful death.

The guide kept climbing a tree to look out over the high grass for rhinos, I thought he was doing this so we didn’t walk into them....no actually it was for the opposite reason.

We are walking along then suddenly he says stop shuuuuush and pointed and there maybe 30meters away are 2 giant white rhinos, we backed off and climbed a very small tree, one of the guides went to a tree on the other side of where the rhinos were grazing and then started to tap a stick onto the tree.

the rhinos prick their ears (they can’t see very well) and then suddenly they are charging right for the tree me and jade are sat in, they stop directly under the tree, I am saying my prayers at this point and at the same time am amazed...there are 2 giant white rhinos just below my foot....them they charge off into the bush.

Wow what a wicked experience it was like being in part of David Attenborough programme.

After our walk we crossed the river and the elephants were there with the mahouts. we clambered on the elephant and took my first elephant bath, shouting lalalaghat which in elephant means soak me please we got totally drenched about 20 times...so much fun.

We visited an elephant breeding centre where there was the tiniest baby elephant there you have ever seen and we also visited a local village by bicycle.

In the night time there was a dance and there was this really weird peacock thing on the stage, very amusing!




Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

oh my god!oh my god!
oh my god!

this was the very small tree I was perched in just before being charged by 2 wild rhinos.


Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0905s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb