Welcome to paradise...welcome to Manta's paradise


Advertisement
Maldives' flag
Asia » Maldives
October 7th 2007
Published: October 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

It's public holidays for a week one more time in China, and time to escape to great destinations. China
is moving fast, very fast, and the best proof of it is the shift of population in the planes. It used to
be westerners escaping...well, most of them cannot afford a ticket anymore, and the local chinese have
been more than happy to replace them. So this week, the first group of guests in the resort are by far
the chinese..and somewhere, this is great news, even if it means I will have to continue booking tickets
way ahead!

The weather this week has been a mix bag of sun, wind, clouds and rain, but in paradise, who really care?

We met my parents at Singapore airport. They are 64 and 61, and on their first round-the-world trip,
never to late to start having real fun! It's a great opportunity for them. So here we are ,my parents, Leslie
and I...and for me, my fifth visit to the Maldives in 10 years...so don't ask me if I like the place!

We ended up arriving at Club Med late in the night of 29th September, and on the 30th, well, I was diving
with 10 manta rays at 9am, an hour later surrounded by hundreds of dolphins, and in the afternoon,
snorkeling with Leslie.

If you ask Leslie what does he thinks of the place...well, he has snorkeled nearly every day. We even saw
a massive white tip shark one afternoon, went around hundreds of dolphins, so what can you ask for more.

As of diving, I wanted to get my PADI rescue, but it will be for another time as I was the only volunteer.
The instructor asked me...why do you want to do this in the Maldives, as if I was wasting my time, my answer
was simple...why not, I've only dived in dream places lately, have to do it somewhere...

So in 6 days of diving, ended up with 8 dives, many mantas, napoleons, turtles, various sharks and many many
fish. Went also on many snorkeling trip with Leslie.

There are always regrets, mine is very simple, my gorgeous one couldn't make it on this trip, not that
easy to organize considering we met just over a month ago. So yes I missed sharing a gin tonic at sunset,
dancing rocks at midnight, sharing our long kisses and having you discover diving. But at the same time
I know our wonderful weekend is just around the corner and the next few months are going to be impressive!
Because we simply love one thing, sharing! Carpe Diem!


So at least one more entry to come in October, but wait for November, should be amazing, because if
today is wonderful, tomorrow will be even better...full of life and love!


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb