Oh La La... I love Langkawi


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia
August 23rd 2013
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 6.29514, 99.7242


After arriving in Malaysia I visited the Tourist Information Center, picked up some information and decided to start my touring of Malaysia in Langkawi. I had recently looked at visiting from Koh Lanta but the boats were off season, so I'll start here before traveling south to Penang, Cameron Highland then onto Kuala Lumpur. So, as soon as I'm over the border I hang a right and head straight for the coast although making it a pretty long day.

It's very different crossing into Malaysia, I've switched from Temples and a Buddhist culture to Mosque's and a Muslim one, this is going to take some adjustment together with the currency, the language… everything again but hopefully I will settle in soon. The journey over to Kuala Polis was beautiful, from the lush rice paddies again, mountain backdrop, mosques, different road signs to follow it can be a bit overwhelming trying to take it all in, but the reaction on the road is the same with the thumbs up and shout outs that I get along the way combined with beautiful big smiles.


On arrival in Kuala Polis I head straight to the ferry terminal and I'm pleased
that there's a ferry in less than an hour so I book on and just relax for a bit. I'm very aware that every other woman here has their heads covered, with many wearing the full Burka's so I am discrete and get changed into trousers and a long top while I wait. I feel all eyes are on me being the only western person here too and as the place fills up there are hundreds of people all going for the same boat.

I was charged 18 RM (around £3.50) for me plus 15 RM for the bicycle and luggage as cargo although my heart was in my mouth when they were trying to lift and lower it onto the boat fully loaded up, I was told it was going down the gang plank (I think) but when they went to lift it I did a quick unpack. Even at this they cracked the chain guard and bent all the back mudguard, thankfully both easily repairable but I will need to be much more careful in the future, I know how heavy my bike is although I would love to know exactly.


I'm seated in beside a group of
Steepest Cable Car in the WorldSteepest Cable Car in the WorldSteepest Cable Car in the World

42 degrees... was scary enough going up
women as the ferry leaves the dock and dose off for a while as we make our way over. It's late and I'm tired on arrival but I've decided to camp up somewhere and I end up in a derelict house pretty much in the city of Kuah but no one stumbles on me which I'm grateful for and with the storm that woke me at one point during the night I was glad I was undercover. I had tried to camp at the ferry port which had a lovely bit of grass but the security persons were worried for my safety saying all the boys from the ferry's would be grabbing at me… personally I think they would be too terrified but I get out the way anyway and into a safe area.


So after an adventurous start the next morning I head to Cenang which is apparently where the cheaper rooms are but in fact it is the main tourist area and has lots of lovely resorts. I stop at a place near the beach and straight away meet Dean who's here for the weekend who has done a lot of cycle touring and even asks if I
want to join him on a trip round the island which is perfect. So after a quick check in, off we go, Cenang out by the airport, to the Cable Car and Seven Wells Waterfall, Kok Beach, Black Sand Beach, Tanjung Rhu Beach… Kuah and the full trip round the island. It really is a stunning place and some of the beaches you really have all to yourself, the color of sand is so white and the water so green and blue that it's really really beautiful and I instantly fall in love with the place. It is actually cheaper here than the main land as there are tax breaks which brings the tourists in, so I might as well take advantage, I know Malaysia is going to be far more expensive than recent countries and now I'm fit again, I will be doing a lot more camping.


I've toured the island by bicycle, been round, through, along loads of roads so its not all been relaxing, and although I didn't go up in the cable car with Dean I did go up a couple of days later with Sandra and Lela who were fab fun and great company. The
Crossing into MalaysaiCrossing into MalaysaiCrossing into Malaysai

6th country border
Italian and Spanish guys I spent couple of days with who were all lovely, the girls from KL Penny & Emma, and of course the many locals too who I've become great friends with, Korie and Dollar plus Mr Gie in particular. I'm loving my time here so much so they think I'll not leave ha ha but I have a route and plans in my head, and although not away yet, soon...


I went Island Hopping which was another great day out, with a mix of Chinese and Indian visitors, we set off from the Marina and out to sea with the boat flying along. The Lake of the Pregnant Lady was the first island we stopped at, it is said that if you drink the water of the lake you will fall pregnant and their are many women swimming around when I arrive... ha ha I'm too scared to even pop a toe in... that could change my travel plans altogether! I saw the most incredible black faced monkey's here which I had never seen before which was a real highlight to my day which was then followed by Eagle feeding and visiting other nearby islands for some snorkeling
King's buildingKing's buildingKing's building

Apparently
and swimming.


Cycling round the island is great, the expressions and looks of disbelief often leave my bursting into laughter and obviously respond to the many 'hello's. The beach is a hive of activity from jet ski's, paragliding, micro-lite's, banana boats, snorkeling, diving, island hoping, caves, eagle feeding it's all here as well as the beach bars and a couple of night clubs which makes for a fun time and excellent stay. There are lots of Indian restaurant and the food is very cheap, I hope the mainland turns out to be similar even food wise as I know any rooms are going to be out of my budget for a while.


I feel that having a few days here has already settled me in to Malaysia, I'll let the millions of photos and sunset that I have tell their own story but I know I'm gonna like it here.



Additional photos below
Photos: 79, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

MosqueMosque
Mosque

A definate change from Temples to Mosque's
Tanjung Rhu BeachTanjung Rhu Beach
Tanjung Rhu Beach

North East Langkawi


Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb