Incredible Architecture


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia
September 7th 2013
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 5.41123, 100.335

The ferry crossing from Langkawi was horrendous, it felt so unstable that everyone onboard was on edge. I met a lovely guy onboard that was my rock and really helped to calm me and although I'm not seasick I keep jumping out my skin, and was completely relieved getting off and back onto dry land!


On arrival I found the Rainbow Hostel, checked in and went out exploring, it's does look a lovely place but George Town is just a big city! I did tour around the many Colonial buildings, mosques, churches, the floating mosque etc. and it is lovely so I spend a couple of days looking around. I did a lot of cycling here and was delighted one day to end up in an island road race which was fun. All these serious cyclists come every year, it's an 82km round trip but I only caught the last 20km with them but it was funny, they all have their lightweight racing bikes and they're trying to catch me on my big touring bikeā€¦ I've guys catching up telling me I'm very fast ha ha, it's well seen I'm not loaded up with luggage. A couple of guys lift my bike at the end and estimate it's 20kg plus I think my luggage will be the same, it's going to be a tough cycle up to the Cameron Highlands!


There's a Funicular railway here which was a fab experience it really does just go up the side of the mountain and I loved it, I had never been on one before. At the top there are mosques and temples and the views overlooking George Town and over to the mainland are stunning. I met lovely people here and ended up in fancy big hotels with my friend Emma who I would never have dared walk into on my own, it's another world to me and I really enjoy the experience.


Emma is heading to Langkawi and actually I've decided to return with her for a few days, I loved the beach and touring around the island, then when I return I will carry on cycling to the Cameron Highlands which are meant to be lovely.


Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Street ArtStreet Art
Street Art

Very apt
Penang BridgePenang Bridge
Penang Bridge

13.5km long


Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0182s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb