Shopped till I dropped !!!


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
November 20th 2010
Published: June 23rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 3.12433, 101.684








Shoes.. Shoes..& More Shoes..

I reached KL airport 12.30 pm and took taxi to my hotel in Bukit Bintang with prepaid voucher at the airport. The taxi driver was lovely man and offered to give me tour guide. He took me to the KL towers and dropped me there.

Petronas Towers

Petronas Towers are symbol of Malaysia and are rated as one of the top attractions in Kuala Lumpur. Petronas Towers has an impressive structure and the Suria shopping mall is situated at the base of the towers,there is also a lovely small park with fountains at the base. I did not wait in queue to go on the Skybridge as I was on a shopping trip, so I walked around the towers and took the pictures. The wonderful part of it is viewing the Towers from the outside during the day and night, I had good views of the towers which has a crystal like surface when lit up at night from my hotel. The taxi driver picked me up after little while and gave me all the details about the architects etc and was very knowledgeable, his name is Mr
Sing and I booked him for return trip to airport. I gave him 20 Rm deposit.

I was on a mission in KL 😊

To buy my daughter who has small feet some lovely shoes, she gets her feet measured in Kids department.. size 34 and uk size 2- Malaysian size 3 and she hardly gets nice style shoes in her size..I headed for Tangs at Pavilion for good quality shoes. I liked two shoes but they did not have size 3 (34) in that style so I went to Charles & Keith and Vincci at Fahrenheit88 outlet. At both this places, it was difficult to find size 3 in most styles because of Sales and very few small size shoes were left but I managed to get 8 pairs, size 3 and small size 4. Finally I proceeded to Sungei Wang & BB Plaza shopping Centres, which has cheaper but pretty shoes, even here, there was no size 3 for most styles so I tried to get smaller size 4 and I was also able to pick up two more pairs from Vincci in Plaza. I had no time to go to China town or do any
of my shopping, I bought many pairs of shoes as they were cheap at 20 %!s(MISSING)ale discount.

Jalan Alor : Street food

After the shop I had the task of packing the shoes and then I walked around Jalan Alor, this street has lot of street food, I had Roti Tissue and it was safe for lone lady as streets were busy with people. Again I had checked out about safety for women walking alone late at night in Kuala Lumpur, I had been reassured that so long as I walked in well lit roads it was fine. The area is buzzing till midnight so no worries apart from usual safety about keeping your valuables in hotel or safe in hiding place.

Beware of the Snatch Thieves in Kuala Lumpur

Ladies do keep your handbag on the other side of the road as there has been reports of motorcycles thieves who will try to snatch your handbag, I also did not keep all my money in one place, next morning I shopped again for over an hour and I managed to get more shoes.

Air Asia Baggage rules

I had upgraded to 25kgs with Air Asia and I had 8-9 kgs in hand luggage but they did not weigh my hand luggage, they are particular about the size though but my little suitcase was within the required measurements which is even smaller then Ryan Air.
I get the feeling that the Air Asia is in competition with Ryan Air on the extra charges.
I carried the thick woollen coat (this coat I bought from Beijing for my daughter as I came with a light jacket) hat scarf and umbrella in hand. Air Asia is very strict about only one hand luggage. It was melting hot and Mr Sing came sharp on time at 11.30 am to take me to airport. It was nice to see smiling face and he had also brought me big bottle of cold water. Such a lovely charming man and throughout the journey back again he was giving me good advice.He also calmed me down for the long flight back to London and he showed me important places on the way to airport. I have his number if anyone is interested in using his taxi service.

LCCT Airport in Kuala Lumpur

There was chaos and big queues for people paying access for the Air Asia hold luggage at the airport. I had weighed my hold suitcase at the hotel which was 24.2 kgs but it showed 24.9 kgs at the AA check in counter. I had no intention of waiting in big queue as I had been warned of the problem of keeping the weight within the limit by half kg. In the plane I managed to sleep for some time and guess what I dreamt about??

SHOES

My daughter is ecstatic and over the moon about her shoes, she loves them all and I got a great buzzzz shopping.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0276s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb