Kuala Lumpur


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
December 16th 2013
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 3.12433, 101.684



I've been back and forth now to Kuala Lumpur (KL) a number of times and I'm delighted to be staying once more with fantastic friends in their hill top condo which has a superb view of the city, honestly you can see for miles and miles with no obstructions, wow!

Not only did I stay before I left for Brunei, Borneo and the Philippines but on my return, and for a spell over the Christmas and New Year period while I was trying to sort out an extended Indovisa. I feel like I have got to know the city quite well and have surprised myself by both cycling in, round about and out of the city which is no mean feat I can tell you, the traffic in KL can be chaos pretty much all of the time!

It's great to be staying in a proper home instead of dorm/hostel type accommodation, I feel that I can truly relax and it's just the simple things like being able to put the kettle on for a cuppa when you want one, it makes all the difference and I can't thank Penny and Mick enough for their continued kindness and support, "thank you
guys, it really is appreciated".

I enjoy hanging out, doing a bit of shopping, going for a beer in the evening and generally being invited to join in with whatever is going on which is lovely with them and their many friends and I love meeting new people who are interested in my journey. While I'm here I manage to see quite a lot of the city and enjoy days sight seeing although I'm always drawn to the Petronas Towers which are just incredible and although I've seen them a few times now, they never disappoint. I love visiting them both day time when the sun is hitting off them or in the evening when the whole place is lit up, it really is special, and I end up taking a million photos of them. I also visit Chinatown, Little India, Mosque's, Temples and enjoy exploring the city as much as possible while I'm here.

As it's the holiday season, there are decorations and lights are everywhere, it's nice to see more western like Christmas trees and decorations which remind me of home and I even help Penny 'make' a tree in their apartment using lights, decorations and a bit of
Petronas TowersPetronas TowersPetronas Towers

Not a bad attempt for a selfie!
imagination... it turned out pretty impressive I think! It's nice sharing this time of year with people and although I head to Melacca for Christmas and New Year, I came back after for another few days to sort out onward travel visa.

Leaving KL the journey to Melacca was fab, the route and journey out was interesting and frantic to say the least, trying to find direction and routes etc. with no map and just a general sense of direction, I'm winging it in general which seems to be the rule of my cycling (the last map I had was in China), but guess what... not only did I made it out of KL but I stumbled on a great route which took me along the Klang River for a good part which gave me a break from the main city roads. If you stop anywhere people always check to make sure you're OK or if you need help in where you're going, they really are a kind and friendly bunch and I need to use them on more than one ocassion.

Thankfully I find my first stop for the night which is a camp spot at Morib which is back out on the west coast of Malaysia and I'm glad of the rest after a mentally exhausting day of traffic. Although there is a camp site here, you have to go over a steep bridge which realistically I can't push my bike and panniers over so instead I set up my tent out under a sheltered area at the end of one of the pier which was ideal. I love all the noises in the night time (well when I feel safe and tonight I do), geckos and crickets and the frogs croaking are my nearby companions and I get a restful night sleep.

Once up and packed in the morning my route will take me down by Port Dickson before Melacca and it's a lovely journey way along the Melacca Straits and a changing landscape of more barren sand with almost dead looking trees which is different. There's a triathlon on today and I meet many people cycling and running on the road, they all have a thumbs up for me, especially all the cyclists. Thankfully I manage to stick to the minor roads and it's a nice journey all the way out to Port Dickson, I head out to some of the beaches for rest stops on route however, all the places to stay here are expensive which means I end up cycling out of town looking for somewhere to camp instead in the evening but I shouldn't really be out on the roads at this time as it's dangerous cycling in the dark, the drivers hardly see you in the daytime never mind the nightime.

I can't find any place to camp so by the time I pass Eagle Ranch Resort, I give in and pull off the road as it's too dangerous. Eagle Ranch is full of Tepees, Log Cabins, adventure playgrounds, swimming pools etc. which is lovely but is also way out my budget! I spotted an area by the volleyball court and I cheekily asked if I could camp under a nearby shelter, the receptionist contacted a manager who contacted his... next thing I know, not only fine to camp, but there's no charge, I can use the pool and the facilities which is great, but there's shops and restaurant if I want them however thankfully I have some camping supplies. In the shed I even have power points and manage to charge my phone and camera which was great, I can't believe how kind people can be and I was extremely grateful to the resort as they all looked after me, even all the security came by chatting and making sure I was OK, it's only a couple of days before Christmas and I'm grateful for their kindness.

In the morning I make my usual plate of porridge, boil some water for tea and get packed up for the road, it can be more tiring camping by the time you put the tent up and down and cook, clean etc. but it's my security and actually the way that I want to travel. The road down to Melacca is ups and down and wynds and straights but I end up taking the wrong road at one point and when I pulled in for my lunch stop of local 'Laksa' I was told I had to turn around as I was heading towards a military base which I wouldn't be allowed through. I am grateful for the advice which saves me a fruitless journey and gets me back on track meaning that I will make Melacca in time for Christmas which is what I wanted.

I've booked into the Discovery Cafe/Hostel in Melacca for a few days over Christmas so I can relax and enjoy the festive period and hopefully get a Christmas turkey dinner somwhere, now that would be nice.

Here's to a Merry Christmas when it comes...




Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Rd to MelakaRd to Melaka
Rd to Melaka

Siting out the rain
StraitsStraits
Straits

Girls taking photos
Lucie LouLucie Lou
Lucie Lou

Down by the Melaka Straits


Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0582s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb